Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark crane
Qatar
Provo
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am tired of people saying this game plays itself. I know of a few strategies, offhand. One is to combine mountain tiles and farm placement to block out your opponent and keep them from creeping into choice farmland. Having one farm left to place with tiles still left to distribute is also a nice place to be. But I'm an amateur--what are your tips?

And, is there a game more complex than this that I should try next, in addition to Through the Desert?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kandrac
United States
Grand Prairie
TX
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For newbies I tell them to maintain at least a 4 hex spacing between farms.

Gg

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Adams
United States
Brigham City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gamegrunt wrote:

Your own, or yours and your oppenent's, or any farms? Placing a farm next to one of your oppenent's farms can be very useful at times. And sometimes even near your own. If the early board is evolving wide open I will often place two of my own close to claim most of the central area.

What I really like about Fjords is that despite the placement options often being so limiting and there only being three types of terrain (fields, mountains, and water), each game turns out so different from the last. There is a lot of variation in the layout so the farm placement has to adjust to the flow of the exploration phase. I very much like to try to isolate potential expansion areas by placing a farm, then adding mountains to limit the way in, but the timing is crucial.

A poorly played (or extremely unlucky) exploration phase makes the second phase of the game obvious and hopeless for one player. However, a well played exploration phase makes the second phase of the game agonizingly difficult, as short as it is.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kandrac
United States
Grand Prairie
TX
flag msg tools