$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 107.62

6,690 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MTG AOTP FAQ
By Chas

This list was compiled soon after the publication of Innistrad (Set 3).

Answer Sources
Hasbro: Official answers from the publisher
Chas: Best call by the compiler (aka Jon Snow)
HS (P, C) Individual Poster or Consensus of two or more posters on www.heroscapers.com
BGG (P, C ) Individual Poster or Consensus of two or more posters on www.boardgamegeek.com

Format
The names of specific spell cards and army card abilities are italicized.

Abbreviations
PW: Planeswalker


Thanks to all the intrepid gamers who asked questions, answered them, and even got Hasbro to answer some.


1. Can card abilities/powers like Liliana's Snuff Out be used in addition to making a regular attack?

Yes. (HSC)

2. Is the “Reserve” different from the “Graveyard.”

Figures in the Reserve can be summoned; in the Graveyard usually not. (Hasbro rules).

3. “Misdirerction” (Blue spell card)

A) Can the card moved be of different colors and owners?

Yes. (Chas)

B) In a team game, can you also move an Ally's card?

Yes. (Chas)

C) Can only a flipped and revealed Spell Card be moved?

Yes. (HSC)

4. Can a two space creature be summoned so that only 1 of its spaces is wintin 5 of the PW?

Yes. (HSC)

5. an you play an enchantment on a card not yet summoned (in the Reserve)?

No. (HSC)

6. In general, can spell cards be played on those of other players, both allies and enemies?

Yes. (Chas) Also see #3 above.

7. Can you cast spells during Turn Steps 1, 3 and 6, even if you did not choose your PW as the active card this turn?

Yes. (Chas)

8. Can Retless Zombies (Black Army Card) attempt to return if the Black PW is destroyed?
No. (Chas: “At the start of a Black Pws turn.”)

9. If an Army Card is sent off table to the Reserve or the Graveyard, do you remove all wound markers and enchantment spell cards on them?

Yes. (Hasbro Core rules p. 13).

10. Path Wardens (Green Army Card) (Zendikar) Do Path Wardens protect against the Eldrazi Ruiner ability “Lay Waste” in the “Take Down” scenario?

No. (Chas)

11. Can more than one card power that activates at the same time/conditions be used on the same turn?

Yes. (Chas).

12. Does an initial Spell Deck require exactly 12 cards, or can fewer be selected?

Twelve cards only. (Hasbro game rules)

13. (Innistrad) When a Cryptolith is destroyed, are the two sand spaces to which it is attached removed as well?

No. (Chas)

14. Are cards activated at the “End of the Turn” active until the beginning of your next turn?

Yes. (HSP)

15. Psychic Rebuttal (Blue Spell Card) If used to cancel a spell, does it also cancel any ability depending on the play of the canceled spell, such as the Rebirth card power of the Flamewing Phoenixes (Red Army Card).

Yes (Hasbro).

16. To which army cards can Auras be attached\?

Only to those in play on the battlefield, not in the reserve or graveyard. (Hasbro).

17. Can Rise of the Dark Realms (Black Spell Card) which brings back a squad creature from the Graveyard, also retrieve the Army Card back into the game, if all of the squad was destroyed?

Yes.(Hasbro).

18. Honor of the Pure (White Spell Card) Does it still apply if the figures are destroyed?

No, all enchantments are removed to the spell graveyard if all of the figures from the Army
C ard are destroyed. (Hasbro).

19. Exactly when can abilities such as Liliana's Snuff Out be used—anytime between Action 2 and Action 5, or only between actions when the army Cared is considered chosen?

After Action 2 and before Action 3, or after Action 4. (Hasbro).

20. Can spells be cast any time before Action 3 and after Action 4, or just immediately before and
after those actions?

21. Spells can be played from your hand anytime after Action 1, before Action 3, after Action 4, and
before Action 5. You can play up to a total of 3 spells per turn. (Hasbro).

22. For Circle of Flame (Red Spell Card), which figure is required to have the damage markers
already, the figure that is taking the damage (probably an opponent's) or the figure that you
control that is adjacent to the figure taking damage?

The figure that you control is the figure that is required to have the damage markers already.
(Hasbro).

23. Does Unsummon (Blue Spell Card) remove damage counters? How do partial squad summons work?

Page 13: Returning a Unique Squad to Owner's Reserve:
“Only figures on the battlefield are returned to an owner's reserve. Any figures in the figure graveyard stay there. All attacked enchantments are discarded to their owners' graveyards. All damage markers are removed.”

Yes, when creatures are returned to a player's reserve, all damage markers on those creatures are removed. The same rules would apply for summoning a partial squad as for summoning a full squad. You wold take any creatures on that army card and place them onto the battlefield on an empty space within 5 clear sight spaces away form the planeswalker that is summoning them. If there are any squad creatures on that army card that are already in the graveyard, they are still destroyed and cannot be summoned. (Hasbro).

24. Does a creature under the effects of Mind Control (Blue Spell Card) act as a creature you control or your opponent controls for disengagements and moving through friendly creatures?

If you play Mind Control and target a squad creature your opponent controls, you control that creature while you are moving and attacking with the target creature. You cannot use activated abilities. An example of an activated abilityh is Liliana's Snuff Out. Currently, no squad creatures in Arena of the Planeswalkers have activated abilities.

A Mind Controlled creature would take a leaving engagement attack from your opponent's figure, not uyour own,. However, the opponent who controls the figure who would make the leaving-engagement attack can choose to not take the attack. (Hasbro).

25. When you summon the Blazing Firecats or the Mad Prophet (Red Army Cards with the Haste ability) must you immediately attack with one if you wish, without playing any spells first?

Yes. (Chas)

26. Duel Casting (Red Spell Card) If this card is repeated, how does it count?

If repeated, it counts only once for each use. (Chas).

27. (Zendikar) What is the proper timing for the two powers of the Eldrazi Ruiner, Relentless and Lay Waste, in the four player scenario?

Lay Waste trigger's at the end of the Eldrazi Ruiner's turn, not at the end of its attack. (Hasbro).

28. Is a Planeswalker considered a “Creature.”

No. Spells that affect “Creatures” do not affect a PW. (HSC).

29. Can a Planeswalker summon a creature onto a Glyph, or on elevated terrain higher than his height?

Summoning can only take place on an empty space, so not on a Glyph (Hasbro rules), and onto
height within 5 clear sight spaces. (HSC).

30. When Elf Rangers use Squad Sprint, is it 3 movement spaces or three spaces (ignoring height costs)?

Three movement spaces (HSP).

31. What is the difference between the use of the words “target” and “choose?”

Following standard MTG usage, 'Target' refers to the figure or enchantment being affected by
an action. The less fequently used term 'choose' is employed when targeting is not an issue in
an action. (HSC)

32. Can a spell be cast outside the PW's usual Range?

Yes, unless a limit is specified on the spell card (HSC)

33. In the Core Game's first scenario, do you have line of sight betwseen the two cardboad ruins?

No, because the battlefield diagram shows a single solid line between them. (HSC)

34. Call To Heel (Blue Spell Card) Does it remove the attacker before his attack is made, or after?

Before. (HSC)

35. Must a spell deck include exactly 12 cards, or up to 12.

Exactly 12. (Hasbro rules).

36. Must you summon all of the remaining figures of a squad, or can you summon on one or some of them?

All of them must be summoned. (Chas)

37. Does Nissa count as an Elf for Elven Blade Finesse?

No, because her card has the subtype Nissa, rather than Elf. (HSC)
Yes, because she's an elf! (Chas)

38. Swift Justice (White Spell Card) Can the user get as many points back as he can take, or only those put on the target (that it has left to take)?

As many as he can take. (Hasbro 1). Only those the target has left (Hasbro 2).
The latter. (Chas)

39. Twisted Image (Blue Spell Card) Are a target's hidden enchants effective?

Yes, if triggered before TI is used, no if after. (HSC)

40. Can PW Nahiri using Lithomancy add a hex under or on top of a Cyrptolith?

No. (Hasbro).

41. Can Angel's Mercy (White Spell Card) be used to have a hero creature heal itself?

Yes. Friendly figures are your own and those of your teammates. (Hasbro)

42. How is Ever After (Black Spell Card) used?

Immediately. The revived figure's card abilities can be used if they happen only during the
figure's next movement and combat before they are returned to the Graveyard. Not. For
example, The Kessign Rangers' Hunt At Dawn. (Hasbro).

43. How is the Transformation ability used?

It occurs at the end of the turn. You cannot use any of the new card's abilities until the next
turn. (Hasbro)

44. Can the new 600 Point army total be used for all scenarios instead of 500 Points?

Yes. (Hasbro).
12 
 Thumb up
1.03
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I posted this here for discussion. Because the pagination and other features did not always translate smoothly, I will also submit it for the Files section below.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B-Rad
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the footwork! I'll give these a read later tonight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Stalica
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh brother...

Raise your hand if you think that Hasbro had no frickin' idea of the s***storm of questions that would arise from the combination of Magic with Heroscape devil...

Reminds me - somewhat - of the early days of MtG card game...laugh

Sadly...it looks like that pattern may be being repeated. soblue
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The problem is that while the Heroscape rules section is so solid, whoever did the MTG section left holes you can drive a truck through! I started out having to make many house rules, reflected in the source (Chas). But who knows if there will ever be an Official FAQ? So in the meantime, we might as well all be more or less on the same page!

I've done FAQ for many games here on bgg, but usually its just a matter of collating what the designers say. In this case, we're more or less on our own, because the Hasbro front line customer service folks are not always on the beam, or in touch with the design team. And we've heard from no designer or official rep so far here on bgg.

Once more into the breach, dear friends.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Stalica
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Trying to merge Magic with Heroscape seems like a recipe for misunderstandings that would need heavy, heavy play testing...

I think the Marketing ****** (choose your own swear word) at Hasbro just thought Magic+Heroscape=$$$$ and didn't realize what that involved on the ground.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Schipper
United States
Prescott Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for attempting to compile this. I'm not fond of using "individual posters" or "best call by the compiler" since these are not official rulings, though I don't necessary disagree with most of the rulings. (In some cases, you've listed yourself or HSC as the source when there is already an official Hasbro response in the FAQs.) Also, I recommend you link to your sources where applicable as it allows the reader to see the original material. At the very least I would encourage you to include a reference to the Hasbro FAQ's posted under the AotP forums as in some cases you basically copied and pasted the answers.

For Reference:
FAQ #1: HASBRO PROVIDED Rules FAQ
FAQ #2: Hasbro Provided Rules FAQ (part 2)

A couple examples of questions that should be updated to official response status:
chas59 wrote:
4. Can a two space creature be summoned so that only 1 of its spaces is wintin 5 of the PW?

Yes. (HSC)


This is in the rules. See page 13 of AotP Rulebook.

chas59 wrote:

5. an you play an enchantment on a card not yet summoned (in the Reserve)?

No. (HSC)


This is in FAQ #1, Response #2.

chas59 wrote:
7. Can you cast spells during Turn Steps 1, 3 and 6, even if you did not choose your PW as the active card this turn?

Yes. (Chas)


Also in the rules.

Note: #12 and #35 are identical and #5 and #16 should probably be merged.

I hope you find this feedback helpful!

EDIT: Fixed incorrectly displayed quotes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
J.D. Schipper,

Absolutely, and thanks.

Since some official answers take a long time or never come, I do like to get a consensus early from other gamers, so I can play the freakin' game already! These 'House Rules' are pretty much the only way we can function, when companies do a bad job of initially writing the rules, and/or don't get back to us for six months or longer. They are provided because they are the rules points I find most essential to have. In other words, I treat everyone as if they were my pals trying to play the game as it is at my place, without the guidance we would have gotten from a more careful and caring game publisher.

I have in the past consolidated FAQs from many games on many discussion boards, some times in the format you suggest. However, here I think it next to impossible that we'll get what we need very soon. You'll notice that in one case, we got opposite answers from two different customer reps! An alternative is the format adopted in the 'Question Dump' on www.heroscapers.com, where we try to figure things out the best we can together, but I don't assume that everyone here visits there.

The fact that I carefully distinguish the source that I can find for each answer is sufficient for me, although I'll happily update it with your info.

Its a lot of typing! Anyone who wants to help out or supplement the info as you have is more than welcome to do so. As for getting a complete Official FAQ for MTG AOTP, it will come late if ever, and not answer half of my questions, let alone yours, I expect. I probably had rocks in my head to even try with this design!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Schipper
United States
Prescott Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I do appreciate that you list where the answers come from so there is no confusion as to what is official and what is not. I think the ones that come from various discussions on Heroscapers would be strengthened by a link to the discussion. If I disagree with or don't understand a ruling, it gives me a resource I can go to and read the rationale behind it. Also, I think many of your "best calls" are quite apparent from the rules as written, but since this is a FAQ, not an errata, it's your call whether to keep them in or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
goo I've gotten the comment before indirectly on FAQs that some calls are obvious. However, the editor in me wants to fix or complete things (like many of you out there, my name appears on several game rules books under "Rules Editing/Playtesting.") Also, in a game meant for 10 year olds, what is apparent to us may not be to them, and they should be able to play without adult supervision, or having to call the publisher about a basic rule.

I'm normally never negative, but how many months has this game been out since the core game, with no unified feedback at all from Hasbro here on bgg or their own site? The customer service answers are slow and often incomplete, because they don't dedicate someone from the design staff to it, who could probably clear most of it up very quickly! But apparently that's not happening...

The Player Aids also in the Files section are those I made for myself and my pals to play the game more easily; I share them also to help out for those that are interested, even for such a 'simple' game.

Those of us who started with Heroscape are used to fending for ourselves rules wise with a Hasbro product; and so far we've done pretty well. You'll find lots more thought on the game on www.heroscapers.com. There you can see threads in our format "The Book of...(Army Card or Spell) with complete details and any discussion (not by me).

Necessity is the mother of invention.

(Edit: JDS, your basic changes made on 2.0!)



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Diederik
Belgium
Brasschaat
Antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for this FAQ.

I do think that number 19 is wrong and was corrected in the second FAQ:

"2) When can activated abilities be used? (i.e., before moving the selected figure, in the middle of movement, after moving a figure but before attacking, between attacks, after attacking, etc.)

You can use activated abilities almost anytime: before moving, after moving and before attacking, after attacking. You cannot use activated abilities in the middle of a move or in the middle of combat.

[Note: The above actually contradicts the previous FAQ (Question 5), but I believe this is the correct ruling.]"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.