$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 128.41

7,594 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Splitter & Rail Spike Driver crit question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dwayne Hendrickson
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
These both throw D8 for damage but there is no mention of if they crit on an 8, on a 6-8, or not at all. Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adria D
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless otherwise modified by gear and/or abilities, crits are on a 6+. Most of the time you roll a D6 to hit, so that's just a 6 for crits. When you use a D8 to hit, it should crit on a 6-8.

I can't recall what the Rail Spike uses, but the Splitter is a D6 To hit and D8 for damage, so it can only crit on a to hit roll of 6 (barring special abilities).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Adria wrote:
Unless otherwise modified by gear and/or abilities, crits are on a 6+. Most of the time you roll a D6 to hit, so that's just a 6 for crits. When you use a D8 to hit, it should crit on a 6-8.

I can't recall what the Rail Spike uses, but the Splitter is a D6 To hit and D8 for damage, so it can only crit on a to hit roll of 6 (barring special abilities).


What Adria said. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
What happens if you have enough cumulative -1s to Hit (say from multi-Void-Venom or from Void Venom + Remains-In-Play Encounter) that your total To-Hit effectively rises above 6 (so like a 5+ with two -1s becomes a 7+)? Can D6 weapons even still Hit? And if so, is it a Crit. And if so, what about D8 weapons? If the D6 weapons always Hit/Crit on a 6+, do the D8s as well, meaning that they're an extremely effective counter against Minus-To-Hit mechanics?

- Jee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.