BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Women and Gaming

Subject: Game Media by People of Colour? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Megan Potter
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was wondering if you guys knew of board game media creators who were people of colour. I'm hitting a wall and I can't decide if that's to do with me or with the industry. I figured you Ladies would know .
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vanessa Lopez
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, what do you mean by game media? Game creators? Reviewers? Not sure.

This is a really good conversation to have though. If we can't think of any people of colour within the industry, that is a sign of a problem.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C&H Schmidt
Germany
Heidelberg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree that (like women) people of colour are underrepresented both as characters in games, as well as in the board game industry.

Now, I am by no means an expert in board game media, so I could very easily be missing someone, but the only non-Caucasian or not entirely Causasian person in gaming whom I can currently think of is Suzanne from the Dice Tower, who does very cool Kickstarter overviews on the Board Game Breakfast -- and incidentally she is also one of the few women on the Dice Tower (and elsewhere in board game reviewing).

(Edit, and somewhat off-topic:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
If anyone is looking at a game with good representation of people of colour and women, check out Android: Netrunner. In the base game it's maybe not that remarkable, but with the expansions, it is.
)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Wurtsboro
NY
flag msg tools
admin
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Jennifer Schlickbernd
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb

Favourite Women in Gaming
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vanessa Lopez
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gswp wrote: