$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 83.81

5,564 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
35.1% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Card Continuation and Removal rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ville Mankinen
Finland
flag msg tools
13.5.7 instructs us to place the Battle Cards that are not discarded "back in the owner's hand at the start of the next player turn".

15.3.4 says "put all the Battle Cards still on the Table in the discard pile".

Does the above mean that most of the continued Battle Cards can remain in their owner's hand from one Game Turn to another and only those that were played just before the turn ended are discarded?

Or should all played Battle Cards that have been returned to their owner's hand be discarded at the end of a Game Turn?

-Ville Mankinen
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Ste-Thérèse
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Villain wrote:
13.5.7 instructs us to place the Battle Cards that are not discarded "back in the owner's hand at the start of the next player turn".


Yes this is correct.

Villain wrote:

15.3.4 says "put all the Battle Cards still on the Table in the discard pile".


Yes correct again. but this is happening at the end of the game turn.

Villain wrote:

Does the above mean that most of the continued Battle Cards can remain in their owner's hand from one Game Turn to another and only those that were played just before the turn ended are discarded?


This means what it means. Yes in some cases if you get back the card in your hand, at the end of a player-turn where there is continuation. I.E: The Game-Turn does not end.

If the game turns ends than all cards still "on the table" are discarded.

Villain wrote:

Or should all played Battle Cards that have been returned to their owner's hand be discarded at the end of a Game Turn?


No, this is not how it works. The cards on the table are discarded if the Player Turn where they were played is the last player-turn of the turn. If there is a new player turn, then the cards are put back in the players' hands at the start of the next Player-Turn (of the same Game-Turn).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ville Mankinen
Finland
flag msg tools
Okay, thanks again Carl! That's the way we've been playing it, but it just felt a bit odd that sometimes you could use the same Battle Card from Game Turn to Game Turn (if you are lucky with the dice), while other times you lose it just because the Offensive is not continued for another pair of Player Turns (even if the die roll allowed you to keep it in play).

Then again, there's a 50% chance to lose the Battle Card every time it is used in combat anyway, so I guess that's not so odd, after all.

-Ville Mankinen
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Ste-Thérèse
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Villain wrote:
Okay, thanks again Carl! That's the way we've been playing it, but it just felt a bit odd that sometimes you could use the same Battle Card from Game Turn to Game Turn (if you are lucky with the dice), while other times you lose it just because the Offensive is not continued for another pair of Player Turns (even if the die roll allowed you to keep it in play).

Then again, there's a 50% chance to lose the Battle Card every time it is used in combat anyway, so I guess that's not so odd, after all.

-Ville Mankinen


Yes, very true. It was simpler that way: you have a 50% chance of losing it anyway. I tried other card mechanics but they did not work well. IMHO it represents well the decision a commander must take in regard of the use of his "precious" combat assets: you never know when that card will come back, so if you got "lucky" and kept the card, will you risk it again and again, or keep it in reserve for later,more critical battles?

I think it was better for players to keep the cards from turn to turn, to do otherwise would mean that players would "burn" those cards and try to use them as much as possible after the first engagement, knowing they will lose the cards at the end of the turn anyway!!! Not very realistic...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.