$18.00
The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 120

7,236 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.6% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Polis: Fight for the Hegemony» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aegyptus trade question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paulus Borgia
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
At game start, assuming no first Spartan action that changes the situation, can Athens trade with Aegyptus? The question for me comes down to whether trade moves work like hoplite/galley movement. If yes, then a merchant can end at a controlled sea area (and therefore a trade center like Aegyptus) as long as it doesn't travel *through* any other such controlled area. Yes? If so, this means at start Athens can trade with Abdera, Persis, and Aegyptus? Not the Black Sea yet obviously as the round would preclude that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew MacLeod
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not quite. Sparta is blockading the Myrtoo, so Athens can't get to Egypt. The merchant doesn't move to the sea area, but to the actual port for Egypt. In order for Athens to get there in Round One, it would need to send at least one galley to the Myrtoo (breaking control) and then send the merchant to Egypt for its second action.

EDIT: For clarification, a trade area (like Egypt) is NOT part of the sea area that a merchant needs to travel through: it's on the other side of the sea.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulus Borgia
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks so much; that helps and makes sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.