$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.34

7,507 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Romulan faction rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
since GF9 is answering questions at the moment, here's another one;

the romulans have the "cultural superiority" rule, letting them get 1 culture if they research an advancement that pictures a culture symbol.

-does this mean that
a) they get 1 culture only once when its researched
or
b) does this mean 1 culture when researched AND 1 culture during each resource generation as well? (im referring to the rule that you get resources during resource generation when these are mentioned on the advancement card).
if its a) the rule seems superfluous?

-if 2 players exchange tech either due to the "orion trader" discovery or by invading a research center, if another faction thus can research a romulan tech with a culture icon that they do not get any culture from it since they dont have the rule? if previous answer is b) they could get it with resource generation? if a) that culture icon has no effect for other factions?

Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Godwin
msg tools
mbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
since GF9 is answering questions at the moment, here's another one;

the romulans have the "cultural superiority" rule, letting them get 1 culture if they research an advancement that pictures a culture symbol.

-does this mean that
a) they get 1 culture only once when its researched
or
b) does this mean 1 culture when researched AND 1 culture during each resource generation as well? (im referring to the rule that you get resources during resource generation when these are mentioned on the advancement card).
if its a) the rule seems superfluous?

-if 2 players exchange tech either due to the "orion trader" discovery or by invading a research center, if another faction thus can research a romulan tech with a culture icon that they do not get any culture from it since they dont have the rule? if previous answer is b) they could get it with resource generation? if a) that culture icon has no effect for other factions?

Thx



The actual wording is "take one culture when you complete an advancement picturing a Culture Token."
Complete being the key word, so you only get culture when it's finished.

The other species do not get a culture token if they complete a rom tech. Effectively it has no other effect other than keeping the Roms from getting one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sure, but the real question is if that culture icon generates a culture during resource generation each turn or not?

the reason i ask is that so far very few romulan advancements have the culture icon, causing that cultural superiority rule to appear very weak compared to other faction's rules so i'm wondering if there isnt more to that rule than at first sight?

im hoping for GF9 to shed a light on this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
There's no reason to believe that the romulans generate culture from their culture advancements during the recharge phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Godwin
msg tools
mbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
sure, but the real question is if that culture icon generates a culture during resource generation each turn or not?

the reason i ask is that so far very few romulan advancements have the culture icon, causing that cultural superiority rule to appear very weak compared to other faction's rules so i'm wondering if there isnt more to that rule than at first sight?

im hoping for GF9 to shed a light on this.


It just actives once.

"Take one culture when you complete an advancement picturing an advancement token"

It's only once when you complete one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
the reason i ask is that so far very few romulan advancements have the culture icon, causing that cultural superiority rule to appear very weak compared to other faction's rules

The federation should expect to generate 7-9 culture from their ability, since they'll explore roughly 1/3 of the systems, and not all of them will be a culture or phenomenon.

The Klingons have no limit to the number of culture they can generate, since their opponents may continue to have fleets for them to destroy. Still, that puts the power to control the klingons' ability in their opponents' hands, since they can (a) refuse to put 3+ ships in one place, or (b) beat the klingons in a fight.

By comparison, if the romulans have 6-8 culture advancements, then that seems pretty fair, since it's a reasonably reliable method of gaining culture.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
i think the upper limit of advancements with culture will rather be 6 instead of 8, but chances are very low to actually research them (you're more likely to spend research on weapons/shields as time runs out).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.