$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.38

7,466 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47% of Goal | left

Support:

I'm looking for a 1v1 "MTG-like" card game in a box, and narrowed the choices down to Ashes and Allegiance. They're both compared to Magic a lot, but play quite differently and I was wondering if anyone has played both. Which one do you prefer?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
v b
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmb
+1!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marina SC
Canada
Vaughan
flag msg tools
Keeping in mind I am not very experienced with Ashes and have only played Allegiance once, my comments on my game ratings are:

Ashes (rated 8):
Quote:
Rating based on 2 players.

Still very much a newbie at this, and I doubt I will ever be proficient at it, but I like this game quite a bit. Despite my general dislike of card games with constantly changing rules, I'm okay with it here because there are only two sets of cards to keep track of (and once you become familiar with the cards it would be even easier, though I'm not at that point yet), and cards often stick round for quite a while. In addition, your goals remain the same, even if how you can get there changes. But I digress...

The importance of timing your attacks and actions gives this game an interesting back-and-forth, where success/failure can depend just as much on when you do something as what you do in the first place. The use of dice gives the game a "gaaah if only I had enough for another action!" feeling, yet also lets you summon strong cards right from the get-go. The duplication of ready spells gives a good sense of escalation as well, as conjurations become more and more powerful.