$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 114.7

7,005 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear! (second edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Truck use question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

I have seen a few scenarios where trucks are included and was wondering how much they are actually used?

Are they just fodder or used to just scout out the map?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Millar
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They're worth VP's, at least in the FF I played where they were used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jon,

The trucks value (obviously) is to get your infantry units deployed to critical positions quickly. After this they are somewhat fodder, in that they do provide your opponent VP's if eliminated, but do not count against your CAP track.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Besides transporting units, trucks can also be useful for stalling. I activate them when I need to stall but don't want to waste AP of useful units. Just save enough AP to get them off the board if enemy approaches.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pisqueeter wrote:
Besides transporting units, trucks can also be useful for stalling. I activate them when I need to stall but don't want to waste AP of useful units. Just save enough AP to get them off the board if enemy approaches.


Wow, interesting tactic, never thought of that!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
May the Great Spirit Bless all who read this.
mbmbmbmb
Towing for deployment and redeployment of anti-tank guns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Snowman wrote:
Towing for deployment and redeployment of anti-tank guns.


I have only played one firefight (with just units) but it doesn't seem like you have enough time in 4 or 5 rounds.

Or do I just not know the game well enough?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There may be enough time to transport AT guns, it depends. Without caps you could do the load, transport, unload in 2 turns provided you are delivering to/from road hexes.

I recall there's at least one firefight where the transport can occur when you bring the gun on the board, then you just have to unload at the destination hex.

You also have CAPS to help pay the load/unload costs to reduce that to 1 turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pisqueeter wrote:
There may be enough time to transport AT guns, it depends. Without caps you could do the load, transport, unload in 2 turns provided you are delivering to/from road hexes.

I recall there's at least one firefight where the transport can occur when you bring the gun on the board, then you just have to unload at the destination hex.

You also have CAPS to help pay the load/unload costs to reduce that to 1 turn.


Are you allowed to bring a truck on the board loaded up? Or is it scenario specific?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simo Ahava
Finland
Espoo
flag msg tools
mbmb
jonpfl wrote:
pisqueeter wrote:
There may be enough time to transport AT guns, it depends. Without caps you could do the load, transport, unload in 2 turns provided you are delivering to/from road hexes.

I recall there's at least one firefight where the transport can occur when you bring the gun on the board, then you just have to unload at the destination hex.

You also have CAPS to help pay the load/unload costs to reduce that to 1 turn.


Are you allowed to bring a truck on the board loaded up? Or is it scenario specific?

Thx
jonpfl

Yes, you can, see e.g. https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1502227/can-i-enter-map-alr....

That's definitely my primary use for Trucks and Wagons. You can transport heavy artillery to optimal positions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pisqueeter wrote:
Besides transporting units, trucks can also be useful for stalling. I activate them when I need to stall but don't want to waste AP of useful units. Just save enough AP to get them off the board if enemy approaches.


Can you always exit off the board? Or is this something scenario specific (where it says you can exit board)?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure exiting is in the standard rules. Check the rules for yourself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pisqueeter wrote:
I'm pretty sure exiting is in the standard rules. Check the rules for yourself.


Downloaded rules and it says in section 5.6 Exiting the firefight
"Units may never exit a map, unless specified by the firefight"

I guess the answer is no.

Thx
jonpfl
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.