16 Posts

War of the Ring (second edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Priming Miniatures rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Pham
Canada
flag msg tools
So I've decided to take the plunge and am quite determined to paint all my WOTR miniatures, albeit just monochrome with shading and highlights. I've trimmed, straightened, and washed all 205 figures, and have just begun to first step - priming. I've found it unexpectedly difficult.

For reference, I'm new to painting miniatures, but not totally foreign to the arts. I did not expect the amount of trouble I've come across so far.

My first choice was Vallejo Surface Primer in Grey, a primer that seems to be almost universally lauded. I started to prime an Isengard regular, and immediately hit my first speedbump. The paint seemed very runny and thin, and barely covered the red plastic. Yes, I did shake and roll the paint vigorously, and even popped the cap and stirred the bottom to make sure it was well mixed. I eventually did get it to cover the red plastic, but only after 5-6 coats, waiting for the paint to dry in the meantime. At that, I was beginning to worry that the details would get obscured, since this was only the primer layer. There were also a lot of bubbles in the paint, though I suspect that was my fault, as I later learned paint should be rolled or stirred, not shaken.

Anyway, next day I go and grab an inordinately expensive can of P3 White Spray Primer. I worry, because it's a hot and humid summer here, but I wait until night and test by priming a couple Mordor regulars. The red plastic beneath is still showing through, but it's definitely going on a lot thinner and more evenly, even if not going into all the crevices. I gain a bit of hope and start priming all the figures. I get not even halfway through and the spray can runs dry. I'm not even considering paying out for that $$ can again, at this rate I would need 2-3 to thoroughly prime all 205 figures.