$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 80.59

5,403 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear! (second edition)» Forums » General

Subject: LOS question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

If you have A>B>C>D (which each letter is a hex) and A is 2 high, B and C are 1 high and D is 0 high.

Can a unit on A see to D?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simo Ahava
Finland
Espoo
flag msg tools
mbmb
jonpfl wrote:
All,

If you have A>B>C>D (which each letter is a hex) and A is 2 high, B and C are 1 high and D is 0 high.

Can a unit on A see to D?

Thx
jonpfl

Hi Jon,

Yes, because they are all on the same hill slope.

Kurt R has compiled an excellent resource for learning the LOS rules: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/106956/los-examples

Your question is actually in the examples (#7).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin L. Kitchens
United States
Gainesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
sahava wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
All,

If you have A>B>C>D (which each letter is a hex) and A is 2 high, B and C are 1 high and D is 0 high.

Can a unit on A see to D?

Thx
jonpfl

Hi Jon,

Yes, because they are all on the same hill slope.

Kurt R has compiled an excellent resource for learning the LOS rules: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/106956/los-examples

Your question is actually in the examples (#7).


What am I missing... In 7 it looks like his example shows A could not see D...


[A]
[ ][B][C]
[ }[ ][ ][D]


D should be blocked from A, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simo Ahava
Finland
Espoo
flag msg tools
mbmb
klkitchens wrote:
sahava wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
All,

If you have A>B>C>D (which each letter is a hex) and A is 2 high, B and C are 1 high and D is 0 high.

Can a unit on A see to D?

Thx
jonpfl

Hi Jon,

Yes, because they are all on the same hill slope.

Kurt R has compiled an excellent resource for learning the LOS rules: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/106956/los-examples

Your question is actually in the examples (#7).


What am I missing... In 7 it looks like his example shows A could not see D...


[A]
[ ][B][C]
[ }[ ][ ][D]


D should be blocked from A, right?

Not in Kurt's example (D is underlined with blue) nor per the rules. As long as there's descending elevation and the intermediate hexes are clear, there is no blind spot in D. This is actually also in the rulebook examples in chapter 11.5. Both images in that chapter have an L2 hill (with the unit), two L1 hexes in between and an L0 hex along the same slope. The unit has visibility to the L0 hex in both examples.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin L. Kitchens
United States
Gainesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
sahava wrote:
klkitchens wrote:
sahava wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
All,

If you have A>B>C>D (which each letter is a hex) and A is 2 high, B and C are 1 high and D is 0 high.

Can a unit on A see to D?

Thx
jonpfl

Hi Jon,

Yes, because they are all on the same hill slope.

Kurt R has compiled an excellent resource for learning the LOS rules: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/106956/los-examples

Your question is actually in the examples (#7).


What am I missing... In 7 it looks like his example shows A could not see D...


[A]
[ ][B][C]
[ }[ ][ ][D]


D should be blocked from A, right?

Not in Kurt's example (D is underlined with blue) nor per the rules. As long as there's descending elevation and the intermediate hexes are clear, there is no blind spot in D. This is actually also in the rulebook examples in chapter 11.5. Both images in that chapter have an L2 hill (with the unit), two L1 hexes in between and an L0 hex along the same slope. The unit has visibility to the L0 hex in both examples.



I was using the image ABOVE example 7, not below. Oops.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.