$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 128.46

7,596 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Robert Fabbro
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cross-posted from CSW:

Hi Brien and Stephen,

Even though rule 20.1 allows a sub to enter an SMZ at any time, it may only conduct a Search and Contact mission if that is allowed by a current War Event (as per 13.21 and 20.4), correct?

In other words, though a sub can enter a SMZ at any time, in practical terms it would only do so to: 1) voluntarily lay mines, 2) conduct mission as per War Event (Search and Contact, Agent Delivery, etc), 3) enter an active Forward Base.

Is that all correct or am I missing something obvious?

I am hoping to get this back on the (real or virtual) table soon.

Thanks in advance!

Rob
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo B-D
Germany
Bielefeld
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Rob,

as Stephen wrote in CSW, it is your decision to hunt in SMZs.
I think, that the rules in this point not in all cases clear.
I have found only 1 or 2 events which say, you must hunt in a SMZ.
The most are mine laying, agents or other "nice" things, which don't allow you to hunt.

And if you only hunt in SMZs if events allow it, Prien with U-47 wasn't able to enter Scapa Flow.
And you will do it in the game, too. Or not?

Ingo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roland D
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dulgin wrote:

And if you only hunt in SMZs if events allow it, Prien with U-47 wasn't able to enter Scapa Flow.
And you will do it in the game, too. Or not?

Ingo

Scapa Flow is covered by other special rule like Gibraltar.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo B-D
Germany
Bielefeld
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Azmodan wrote:
Dulgin wrote:

And if you only hunt in SMZs if events allow it, Prien with U-47 wasn't able to enter Scapa Flow.
And you will do it in the game, too. Or not?

Ingo

Scapa Flow is covered by other special rule like Gibraltar.


But Scapa Flow/Gibralter is in booth cases a SMZ, too.
With the exeption that you can enter only in WP 1 + 2 and each base one time per periode.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fabbro
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Ingo and Roland for your comments!

I have seen Stephen's response over at CSW, so hopefully all is clear now

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.