Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joshua C
United States
Grove City
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Please don't hurt me! I'm new to the game, but one of the first things I always look at in a game is advantages and disadvantages of player order. And as much as I love this game, it does seem like there's a pretty big advantage to going last.

The first player to go can't Clash or Flip anyone on their first turn, whereas the last player has an opportunity to Clash with and Flip everyone. Also on the 6th turn, the last player is safe to play a really risky card because there's no one to go after them and disrupt them, whereas the first player has the highest risk of having their turn 6 disrupted.

I feel like there should be some mitigation for this. I've played games with far less "turn order advantage" that still offered mitigation. Maybe give some small amount of money extra depending on how far up in line you are? Would 1 extra dollar per spot be enough? So in a 4 player game the last player gets 30, then next guy gets 31, then 32 and the first player gets 33. That's enough for one extra Core card.

I'm not sure if it's as big of a deal after the first round. The player who won goes first, which makes it kind of good to handicap them.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Ehlers
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
I love you!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget that first player is set by the previous tournament's winner. So it's a purposeful disadvantage.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua C
United States
Grove City
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb