$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 134.74

7,857 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Terra Mystica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you completely cut a player from the river? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Gaumond
Canada
flag msg tools


Is it ok to place my house on the river tile and prevent the other player from expanding?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you mean the swamp tile above the red temple? Most certainly it is legal for you to play there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gaumond
Canada
flag msg tools
The player is the chaos magicians and it was his only start of the game dwelling. Is it still legal?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
tim3classik wrote:
The player is the chaos magicians and it was his only start of the game dwelling. Is it still legal?


Absolutely legal. The guy is going to have fun twiddling his thumbs for the next 2 hours though.

If this was a face to face game and his 1st or 2nd time playing, don't let him do stupid **** like that to begin with though.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tim3classik wrote:
The player is the chaos magicians and it was his only start of the game dwelling. Is it still legal?


His fault for picking such a bad starting location.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tim3classik wrote:
The player is the chaos magicians and it was his only start of the game dwelling. Is it still legal?

Is there anything in the rule book that would lead you to believe it's not legal?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
grant5 wrote:
tim3classik wrote:
The player is the chaos magicians and it was his only start of the game dwelling. Is it still legal?

Is there anything in the rule book that would lead you to believe it's not legal?


Oh wait! I found it on page 42.

Quote:
Don't screw over new players too much on their first few games. We want them to enjoy the game enough to buy it!
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Larkin
England
Brighton
Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chaos magicians are a powerful race once they get going. To counter this they only start with one dwelling which makes them much more susceptible to being blocked so consequentialy their initial placement is more crucial. Not the best race for a beginner. I think they are probably my favourite race though
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Reitberger
Germany
Nürnberg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CMs set their dwelling last, so they know where opponents start and should find a place where they won't get blocked.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Georg D.
Germany
Höxter
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Zark wrote:
Chaos magicians are a powerful race once they get going. To counter this they only start with one dwelling which makes them much more susceptible to being blocked so consequentialy their initial placement is more crucial. Not the best race for a beginner.


Vulcano races in a game with beginners isn't a good idea either. They aren't overly strong but against beginners they could easily ruin their day.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Space Trucker
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tim3classik wrote:
Is it ok to place my house on the river tile and prevent the other player from expanding?

From a pure rulebook viewpoint this is perfectly fine.


But:
The Chaos Mages player is obviously a beginner of TM or at least Fire/Ice, else he would have known that must not place his start dwelling there unless he's able to secure the yellow hex with his first turn before Dradonlords have any chance to move.

With the blue hex blocked the Chaos Magician will not be able to build any structures anymore except upgrading his temple to Sanctuary. He'll have a pretty boring game were he can either directly resign or squeeze out a few points in the cults. He'll lose anyway.

Even the actual board position where Chaosmages are forced to do a triple dig on blue for their second structure is already pretty much game ending on even player level.

I guess that this was/is a casual game, which is meant to be fun for everyone around the table. Maybe you want to accept CM's capitulation at this point and restart the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fluxx wrote:
Vulcano races in a game with beginners isn't a good idea either. They aren't overly strong but against beginners they could easily ruin their day.
With beginners, the base game is more than enough to have fun, make mistakes and learn from them. Don't use the expansion with beginners - the only thing to use is VTO (variable turn order).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gaumond
Canada
flag msg tools
I was in the position to cut him from the game, but decided not to do it because it would suck for him and he wouldn't have fun.
Which was kind of a mistake, because he ended up winning the game! XD

Thanks for the answers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
mbmbmbmbmb
Lesson learned for next time! If you let the chaos magicians get going, they can run away with the game. You have to stop them when you can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.