$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 113.81

6,966 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
43.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Activation of deployment points rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ray PG
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmb
Do all deployment points (any color) become active for open group deployment when specified in the mission briefing?

For example, in the Homecoming mission (pg 13) it says:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
"Deploy the reserved Darth Vader to the red point" after the garage doors open.


Is this deployment point now active for the IP to deploy open units in? Seems strange to spawn units out of the ground in the garage, but other missions seems to indicate that mission activated points can be used for that purpose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
One-time deployments to a point does not make it active. Deployment points become active only if the mission rule says they are active.

Only green deployment points are active at the start of the mission.

One-time deployments represent the rebels seeing the groups already present. They don't come from anywhere, they just become revealed to the rebels.

Btw, could you hide or remove the spoiler about Homecoming. The question can be asked and answered without an example.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to show the above is correct, here's where it's covered in the rules:

RRG - Deployment wrote:
Red, blue, and yellow deployment points are not
active until specified by the mission’s rules, even if another
rule allows a one-time deployment to any of those points.


Thematically, the one-time deployment isn't spawning characters out of the ground. They were always there. The Rebels just didn't know they were there until the triggering event occurred. X marks the spot, essentially.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.