$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 81.88

5,468 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.5% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Toshiyuki Sakai & Accessing multiple cards in a server from latest FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Martin
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
In the latest FAQ 8/7/2016, there are new rules for accessing cards in a server, that caps the accesses to the number of cards in server, so if cards are added, you can't access more.

Does this make Toshi better?

If Toshi is in a server alone, the runner only accesses 1 card, Toshi. Corp then swaps Toshi for another card from HQ, and then the runner cannot access it, despite that being the obvious intent of Toshi. If it's last click, or impossible for the runner to get back in, just swap in an agenda.

If there are multiple cards in server, like Caprice/Ash, then as long as the runner accesses Toshi before his last access, he can still access the swapped card. In that case, swap with another Toshi, until the runner runs out of accesses.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
goosarino strangeprawn
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think, and it gets a bit convoluted here, that Toshi still works as intended...

Since text on cards always beats universal game rules when there's a conflict, Toshi's text "the runner can choose not to access the new card" suggests that if the runner DOESN'T choose to NOT access, they still have to access the replacement(because they didn't choose not to). All because the card beats the rulebook.

That would be my interpretation anyway, probably worth asking the official channels just in case somebody actually slots him one day.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure the number of cards you access on hitting a remote server is "all", same as for Archives. The "number of cards accessed" only applies to R&D and HQ, and in both cases also only applies to cards in that server proper and not upgrades in the root (e.g. you can't run HQ when one upgrade is installed, then access two cards from HQ rather than one card and the upgrade).

Don't have the time to look references up now but I'm fairy sure that's true. If you want Toshi to work, Hudson 1.0 is probably still your best bet...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
remember the golden rule that card text supersedes game rules

even if it didn't, Toshiyuki Sakai clearly allows the runner to access (or choose not to). just because it is being accessed during a run, it is not a normal access that is granted by the rules. it is a triggered ability that grants an access that just happens to almost always trigger during the access step of a run.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Martin
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
From the FAQ 3.1 - "When the Runner chooses to access a server he or she will access a set number of cards. Upon choosing to access, that number is determined by the total number of cards a successful run on that server would access, plus any active modifiers that may be adding to or reducing the total number, up to the number of cards actually in the server. If cards are added to the server in the middle of access, the number of cards to be accessed does not increase, even if the total number of potential cards to be accessed was greater than the actual number of cards."
Bold added

Doesn't say R&D or HQ only, so it applies to remotes.

The rules were fine as they were originally written in the rulebook. Access all cards in any order for Archives and remotes. R&D and HQ limited to 1 plus modifiers. Access all upgrades in any order in between other accesses.

The only change is that the number is capped to the cards in the server. This only matters with Toshi and Leela, until new cards come out. It doesn't make any sense at all. If Leela legworks into a 2 card HQ, steals an agenda and bounces a card, why not access 3 total?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Martin
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
The golden rule does nothing here. Toshi does not say "the runner accesses the new card unless he chooses not to". He just says the runner can choose not to access the new card.

Under the original rules where the runner has to access all cards in remotes, the runner could choose not to access the new card, because of the golden rule. Now he cannot access the new card unless there are other cards in the server he hasn't accessed yet. Toshi gives no permission to access the card, the permission comes from the rules framework, which was changed for no apparent reason.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Vaduva
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ruskettle wrote:
The golden rule does nothing here. Toshi does not say "the runner accesses the new card unless he chooses not to". He just says the runner can choose not to access the new card.


Yes, Toshiyuki's text is clunky given the new ruling, but it still functions the same way as it did before it because of the golden rule. The fact that it implies you have a choice makes both options valid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.