$18.00
The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 120

7,236 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.6% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Big Book of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wait i'm confused here. HELP! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
j s
United States
washington
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattintheweb wrote:
Dillon is right: if spells says "X other players", you can't trigger it several time for the same player.
In other words, it's useless to spend more cards to cast it several times in a 2-player game.


Official FAQ wrote:
Can a Spell targeting “❶ other player” be cast multiple times on the same player, or on the player that
cast it?
No: you cannot target yourself with a Spell like this, nor can you target the same player multiple
times. In concrete terms, this means that it’s useless to spend the cost of a Spell multiple times in
a 2-player game.


Official FAQ wrote:
Telepathy
One other player takes ❶ Action.
A players takes his actions during your turn. The player must agree and be able to take the
action of his choice. The targeted player doesn’t refill his hand at the end of the current turn,
but at the end of his own turn. If you make a player take multiple actions, you cannot take an
action until he has completed all of these actions. Except in special cases, the power of your
magician can only be used during your own turn



Now hold on here. Am I missing something or is this contradictory? I thought cards that said "X other players" can only be used on another player once. So how can there be a time when telepathy is making a player take "multiple actions"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J M
United States
Scottdale
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not X players, it's ONE player X actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Meltzer
United States
Dover
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Eight ball, corner pocket
mbmbmbmbmb
ValentineS wrote:
Mattintheweb wrote:
Dillon is right: if spells says "X other players", you can't trigger it several time for the same player.
In other words, it's useless to spend more cards to cast it several times in a 2-player game.


Official FAQ wrote:
Can a Spell targeting “❶ other player” be cast multiple times on the same player, or on the player that
cast it?
No: you cannot target yourself with a Spell like this, nor can you target the same player multiple
times. In concrete terms, this means that it’s useless to spend the cost of a Spell multiple times in
a 2-player game.


Official FAQ wrote:
Telepathy
One other player takes ❶ Action.
A players takes his actions during your turn. The player must agree and be able to take the
action of his choice. The targeted player doesn’t refill his hand at the end of the current turn,
but at the end of his own turn. If you make a player take multiple actions, you cannot take an
action until he has completed all of these actions. Except in special cases, the power of your
magician can only be used during your own turn



Now hold on here. Am I missing something or is this contradictory? I thought cards that said "X other players" can only be used on another player once. So how can there be a time when telepathy is making a player take "multiple actions"?


EVERYTHING depends on where the ❶ symbol is in the spell definition. It is THAT number that is increased when you "power up" the spell.

So, in the first case (where the spell is targeting ❶ other player), powering up the spell just increases the NUMBER OF PLAYERS that can be the target of the spell. In the second case (where one other player takes ❶ actions), powering up the spell increases the NUMBER OF ACTIONS that the ONE other player can do.

BTW, not meaning to shout with the CAPS, just showing what is affected in each case.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j s
United States
washington
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Brilliant! Thank you Jonathan. Very helpful and clear explanation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.