$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 131.71

7,732 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quest advancement vs. forced triggers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Rules of Play, Quest Advancement wrote:
Players immediately advance to the next stage of a quest as soon as they place a number of progress tokens equal to or greater than the number of quest points the current quest card has.

The Hunt Begins wrote:
Forced: After the players quest successfully, the first player looks at the top 3 cards of the encounter deck. Reveal and add 1 of those cards to the staging area, and discard the other 2 cards.

If the players quest successfully enough to advance to the next stage of the quest, does the forced ability of The Hunt Begins trigger? Which happens first? The forced trigger or quest advancement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is discussed in the FAQ:

(1.24) Questing Successfully
Questing successfully and the physical placement of
progress tokens are two separate game occurrences
that happen in sequence during the Quest Resolution
step. As soon as the players determine that the total
committed Willpower is greater than the total Threat in
the staging area, they are considered to have quested
successfully. Any Forced or passive effects initiated by
questing successfully resolve before physically placing
progress tokens.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Teamjimby wrote:
This is discussed in the FAQ

Excellent! Not sure how I missed that. Appreciate the quick response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.