$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 97.74

6,236 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
39.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gato Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hit Effects question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

First, I must say two very positive things about Gato Leader (which I admit I haven't played yet)...

1) While I may find a few holes after playing my first game, I have to commend this rulebook! This is my 4th DVG game. I just finished reading/highlighting the Gato Leader rules and I was impressed with how much more complete and better structured this rulebook is, over other DVG games. For instance, even after my first read-through of the TAL and FC:Nimitz rulebooks, I had a LOT of questions!

But not so with Gato Leader! So far, I have only one question (see below). Again, after I actually play a game, then my attitude may change. But for now, I'm impressed.

2) I'm also impressed with the quality of the components! The cardboard is very thick! But most importantly, the counters are cut with VERY clean edges, have rounded corners, and almost fell out of the sprue!

The fact that the edges were clean (with rounded corners, that is) caught my eye. I recently punched GMT's Liberty or Death: The American Insurrection, which also featured rounded corners for its corners. But the side edges always had a burr or two. NOT SO with Gato Leader!

Component quality top notch.

OK, on to my question:
Page 22, "Hit Effects", says to draw all hit counters against a submarine at one time. Then it says to resolve each hit counter after being drawn. OK... easy enough.

But then I got confused when it says to, "then immediately return the Hit counters to the cup." It sounds like this sentence is saying to return each Hit counter to the cup after drawing. But that can't be, as the top of the paragraph says to draw all "at one time".

It's just that the three sentences in this paragraph serve to contradict each other. I suspect it's only a grammar thing... so if anyone could help me understand what it's trying to say, I'd appreciate it!

Again, let's say a sub gets three hit counters as a result of an attack... do you draw one, resolve it, and return it to the cup. Then draw the 2nd?
Or do you draw all three at once, resolve each, then return all three at once, to the cup?

Thx!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Fike
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Draw all 3 at once, apply the effects and then return the three to the cup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Yeah, the same as TAL... I should've simply assumed that and pressed on. Thanks!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.