$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 134.71

7,856 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring: Battles of the Third Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Scenarios: Breaching a Stronghold rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giorin Grünforst
msg tools
mbmbmb
The rules say:

"When damage inflicted to a Stronghold reaches its
Protection Value, the Stronghold is considered to be
breached, and does not protect any more the armies
inside it: All residual damage and any damage inflicted
afterwards is applied to the defending Army normally.
After a Stronghold is breached, the defender still
receives the +1 bonus to Combat Strength, but the
Target Number for the attacker becomes 5."
p.21

When exactly is the new Target number applied? I have been playing a lot ot "Batte of the Five Armies" lately. In this game there is the explicit rule that the new Target Number kicks in the round after breaching the stronghold. The text in the Scenario rules of BotTA is ambigous. It comes down to the questions whether

a) the dice are rolled simultaneously or one after another - we thought simultaneously
b) the Target Number can change during one combat round - the rules are silent on this

As my friend and I both played Battle of the Five Armies we decided to let the Target Number change the next round. Does anybody know better?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Poulter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dice a are rolled together.

I think you are correct about the target number. Battle of five armies is based on these games and it was clarified for those rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giorin Grünforst
msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you, Krieghund!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.