$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 66.36

4,660 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.4% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
27 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

War of the Ring: Warriors of Middle-earth» Forums » General

Subject: English Rulebook Available for Download rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nils Klykken
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
Here's the link to the English version of the rulebook:

http://www.aresgames.eu/17138
26 
 Thumb up
0.06
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Johnson
United States
Cedar Park
Texas
flag msg tools
Well me known for eating cookie when me don't they shout
badge
Look! He try to throw loyal fans a curve!
mbmbmbmbmb
Go below the flash plug-in, under the header that says download.

Edit: Original question being addressed above was "Where on the page is the download link?"
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Hook
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tallgrant wrote:
Go below the flash plug-in, under the header that says download.

Thank you so much. After I posted my note I checked again, and Murphy's Law, that's when I finally found the download link. I then returned here to delete my note to hopefully conceal my obvious knuckleheadedness, but alas I was too late.

Thank you so much, tallgrant, for your help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Johnson
United States
Cedar Park
Texas
flag msg tools
Well me known for eating cookie when me don't they shout
badge
Look! He try to throw loyal fans a curve!
mbmbmbmbmb
We all do those sorts of things.

And I suspect you won't be the last one to ask.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Massey
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
JonHook wrote:
tallgrant wrote:
Go below the flash plug-in, under the header that says download.

Thank you so much. After I posted my note I checked again, and Murphy's Law, that's when I finally found the download link. I then returned here to delete my note to hopefully conceal my obvious knuckleheadedness, but alas I was too late.

Thank you so much, tallgrant, for your help.


No , it IS a ridiculous layout.
a page that scrolls forever, giant fonts and pics everywhere- about everything.
and your there for one little line to the link soblue
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dexter
msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks. Now I can be ready to play as soon as I get my copy.

Do y'all think that "coastal regions on the Western sea" include all the regions up to Grey Havens? Would the shadow player be able to use Corsairs to transport troops to assault the Grey Havens? (I count that it would take 3 turns to get there from Umbar moving 4 spaces per turn.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dexter
msg tools
mbmbmb
I will toss out one more question for discussion while we are waiting for the game to be released. The rulebook states the following in regard to both the spiders and wild men: "spiders/wild men do not form a shadow army by themselves, but if they are in the same region with a shadow army, they can move and attack with that army." What does this mean? How can these figures attack? Can you get a die roll or re-roll for spiders/wild men? Or is it only using a card that they can attack and without a card they are just along for the ride?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
mbmbmbmbmb
savedbyhim01 wrote:
I will toss out one more question for discussion while we are waiting for the game to be released. The rulebook states the following in regard to both the spiders and wild men: "spiders/wild men do not form a shadow army by themselves, but if they are in the same region with a shadow army, they can move and attack with that army." What does this mean? How can these figures attack? Can you get a die roll or re-roll for spiders/wild men? Or is it only using a card that they can attack and without a card they are just along for the ride?


With out spoiling to much:

1. They can now be moved along with the Army using Army Action dice results...

2. There might be other ways to make them more active in the fighting...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
savedbyhim01 wrote:
Do y'all think that "coastal regions on the Western sea" include all the regions up to Grey Havens?

Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Kara
msg tools
Are there any special rules for a four player game? It says nothing in the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Johnson
United States
Cedar Park
Texas
flag msg tools
Well me known for eating cookie when me don't they shout
badge
Look! He try to throw loyal fans a curve!
mbmbmbmbmb
Kareskara wrote:
Are there any special rules for a four player game? It says nothing in the rulebook.


Look on page 11. They're present.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dexter
msg tools
mbmbmb
Kareskara wrote:
Are there any special rules for a four player game? It says nothing in the rulebook.


Page 11 has multi-player rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Kara
msg tools
Ha I didnt see that. Thank u
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
- -
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
ELIMINATION

(...)

The Free Peoples may declare that Strider/Aragorn, and any Companions with him, leaves the Army of the Dead (for example, to join a Free Peoples Army in the same region, or to move away). The Army of the Dead is immediately disbanded and the Faction is out of the game.

Does it mean that he cannot be crowned until he leads the Army of the Dead ?
In other words - can you simply move the Army of the Dead with Strider to either Dol Amroth, Pelargir or Minas Tirith and then use a proper Action die to replace Strider by Aragorn, without disbanding it?

I guess it works exactly that way, but it would be nice to have a confirmation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
cyb3k wrote:
In other words - can you simply move the Army of the Dead with Strider to either Dol Amroth, Pelargir or Minas Tirith and then use a proper Action die to replace Strider by Aragorn, without disbanding it?

Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atanasije Stojkovic
Serbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cyb3k wrote:
Does it mean that he cannot be crowned until he leads the Army of the Dead ?


What? Where on Earth did you get that?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess I didn't really answer that question. The answer is that it's not required that the Dead Men be in play before Strider becomes Aragorn - the normal procedure can still be used. All that matters is that the requirements for promotion are met.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.