$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.6

6,644 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

The Pursuit of Happiness» Forums » General

Subject: Job question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Is the only way to get a promotion is to have an existing job and have one on the board of the same type? Can you just pay the cost of your existing job to get a promotion?

Thx
jonpfl
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Er
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
jonpfl wrote:
All,

Is the only way to get a promotion is to have an existing job and have one on the board of the same type? Can you just pay the cost of your existing job to get a promotion?

Thx
jonpfl


Yes, to promote you must have the next immediate higher level of the same job on the board

However, you may change jobs at any time by simply paying the costs of getting the new job
You will NOT lose STH nor gain a stress for doing so
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Curious what the point of saying "get the reward from the old job card and not the new card when getting promoted"?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
Curious what the point of saying "get the reward from the old job card and not the new card when getting promoted"?
If you're going from a L1 to a L2 job, both cards will have "Promotion" text with rewards. This rule is clarifying that, in such cases, you get the rewards in the "Promotion" section of the old card, not the new card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
Curious what the point of saying "get the reward from the old job card and not the new card when getting promoted"?
If you're going from a L1 to a L2 job, both cards will have "Promotion" text with rewards. This rule is clarifying that, in such cases, you get the rewards in the "Promotion" section of the old card, not the new card.


But why would you get the benefits from the old card when you are getting promoted to a new job (aka new card)?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
ryudoowaru wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
Curious what the point of saying "get the reward from the old job card and not the new card when getting promoted"?
If you're going from a L1 to a L2 job, both cards will have "Promotion" text with rewards. This rule is clarifying that, in such cases, you get the rewards in the "Promotion" section of the old card, not the new card.
But why would you get the benefits from the old card when you are getting promoted to a new job (aka new card)?
Just the benefits of the Promotion section.

EDIT: To clarify: one of the benefits listed in the "Promotion" section of the old job is the new job. You are taking a Card Action on the old job to activate the "Promotion" ability of that card. When that happens:
1) Place an hourglass on the old card.
2) Pay the "Promotion" cost of the old card.
3) Get the benefits listed on the old card, one of which is to replace the old job card with the new card.
4) Discard the old job card, and place the hourglass that had been on the old job card on the "Spent Time" section of the board.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
ryudoowaru wrote:
jonpfl wrote:
Curious what the point of saying "get the reward from the old job card and not the new card when getting promoted"?
If you're going from a L1 to a L2 job, both cards will have "Promotion" text with rewards. This rule is clarifying that, in such cases, you get the rewards in the "Promotion" section of the old card, not the new card.
But why would you get the benefits from the old card when you are getting promoted to a new job (aka new card)?
Just the benefits of the Promotion section.

EDIT: To clarify: one of the benefits listed in the "Promotion" section of the old job is the new job. You are taking a Card Action on the old job to activate the "Promotion" ability of that card. When that happens:
1) Place an hourglass on the old card.
2) Pay the "Promotion" cost of the old card.
3) Get the benefits listed on the old card, one of which is to replace the old job card with the new card.
4) Discard the old job card, and place the hourglass that had been on the old job card on the "Spent Time" section of the board.


Sorry if these seems simple, just wanted to make sure

1) Is this the ONLY way to get a promotion (through the action of a new job card on the board)?
2) When you take the new card from the board for the promotion, do you still pay the upkeep? The reason I ask is that there is an empty box next to the promotion box.
3) Can you retire at any time (by placing a token on the job card)?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Bagiartakis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
1) Is this the ONLY way to get a promotion (through the action of a new job card on the board)?
2) When you take the new card from the board for the promotion, do you still pay the upkeep? The reason I ask is that there is an empty box next to the promotion box.
3) Can you retire at any time (by placing a token on the job card)?


1) The only way to get a promotion is through the card action 'Promotion' on a Job you already have. It just has the additional requirement that the new Job must be on the board at that point. There is no other way to get promoted. (You can still get a higher level Job of the same or another type directly by paying the required resources. However, in that case it doesn't count as a Promotion and you need to go to the Take Job action space to do so)

2) When you get Promoted you take the new card and you replace the one you had (discard the old one). That is all done in the Action phase. When the next round's Upkeep phase comes, you will have to pay the Upkeep of the new Job (since that's the only Job in front of you). Promotion is not a state in which you are, that's why there is no Upkeep in the promotion box.

3) Retirement works similarly to the Promotion. You perform it as a card action on L3 Jobs by paying the required resources. The only difference is that when you are retired, you do get the Upkeep bonuses listed on the card (in a way, 'retirement' IS a state in which you are).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for all these questions but is there any advantage to doing a promotion vs just paying for a new job?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Bagiartakis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't worry, it's a perfectly reasonable question.

Yes, there is indeed an advantage. You pay fewer resources and you also get some LTH points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


So if you have social job L1, what are your options if social job L2 shows up?

1) Pay 1 pawn (for promotion on owned card) and 6 purple and you receive $3 and 3 LTH.
2) Pay 1 pawn (on get a job space), 3 book and 6 purple and you receive $11.
3) Both cases you now get L2 card?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moisés Solé
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct. Note that option 1 you can take only if the Social level 2 appears, but option 2 you can do on the L3 if you want, or on any arts or science job.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Myers
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
Dexposure.com
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If one does not have a job yet, Do you have to have a L1 job to be able to get a any L2 job (placing hourglass on the board)? Or can you just start your first job with a L2 or L3 job?

Also, after you retire in a job, would that job not count as part of your 3 project limit? and a further note would you then be able to get another job?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Bagiartakis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Bogusgig wrote:
If one does not have a job yet, Do you have to have a L1 job to be able to get a any L2 job (placing hourglass on the board)? Or can you just start your first job with a L2 or L3 job?

As long as you can pay the required resources you may start with a L2 or L3 Job directly - you are not required to have an L1 Job first.

Bogusgig wrote:
Also, after you retire in a job, would that job not count as part of your 3 project limit? and a further note would you then be able to get another job?

After retirement the L3 Job card is set aside and it no longer takes one of your 3 slots.

However, if you get another Job you lose the one you retired from, it will have to be discarded. (you can also check the 'Get Promotion' section on page 13 in the rulebook)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Myers
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
Dexposure.com
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I found the answers in the printed version of the rules I was able to read later. I asked those questions while reading downloaded rules last version which was missing those two points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Yamaguchi
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the promotion on the social job cost 2 hour glasses? One to activate the card and one for the printed cost?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Bagiartakis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The image above is from the 1st Edition cards where the cost was listed on the cards.

2nd Edition cards don't list an Hourglass in the Promotion cost since it is a requirement for all the Card Actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.