$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 58.01

4,198 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
26.5% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Not War But Murder» Forums » Rules

Subject: Point unit and Artillery killed when repulsed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven F
United States
wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
13.1
Point unit and Artillery units are exhausted after assault.
10.4.4
Exhausted units die when repulsed.

Questions:
I assume the above 2 rules = Point unit and Artillery units always die when repulsed - correct?

Just the attacker's Point and Artillery unit is exhausted in battle?
Not the defender's to?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 10.4.4 is a combat resolution rule.

I'm not clear whether you are talking about units that attacked Fresh or Exhausted, or whether the result was a Repulse, Stalemate, or Success.

Based on the wording I am going to assume you are asking about a Repulse result.

If both units were Fresh they flip to their Exhausted side as a result of the Repulse. If they were both already Exhausted (hint: never attack with Exhausted units unless failing to do so will lose the game) they are Eliminated.

Rule 13.1 is part of the Night Phase rules. It begins with a quick recap of Exhaustion before guiding the player through the Replacement Phase. It makes no mention of Casualty Points, which occur when a combat is a Success result and are applied to the defender; those are found in rule 10.6.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven F
United States
wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yes
fresh unit into battle is what I meant

so if fresh artillery and point units attack and are repulsed, they are merely exhausted - not dead, got it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Which doesn't make a repulse much less painful, especially for the CSA player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.