$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 134.71

7,856 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Rise and Decline of the Third Reich» Forums » Rules

Subject: Foreign Aid Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jersey Guys
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mb
Field Marshall Roe and I have once again run into a situation where we aren't sure how to interpret the rules, so we turn to the forum for advice on how you would handle it.

Here is the situation: Germany and Italy are at war with Russia, Great Britain and the U.S. Germany's minor allies aren't activated yet.

Can Great Britain still send foreign aid to Finland despite the presence of an active enemy (German 3-3 infantry) in Helsinki? I suppose it can but we want to make sure.

The trickier situation is with Bulgaria and Hungary. There's no land route through Turkey to Bulgaria in this game, so would a line of Germans and Italians along the border inside Rumania prevent foreign aid from getting down to Bulgaria. If so, would they also prevent aid from getting to Hungary through Bulgaria?

We ask because the only reference we can find that seems relevant is under rule 33.62, which states that ``neutral hexes (even those of garrisoned inactive Axis Minor Allies containing a garrison unit) are treated as controlled'' for purposes of sending aid. Now that Russia and Germany are at war we are unsure whether those Axis units are considered `garrison' or not.

After all, their presence doesn't prevent a Russian DoW on the minor ally. So if they are no longer considered garrison units, would they now control the hexes they are on, negating the foreign aid exception?

Has anybody had this situation happen? How do you handle it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
mbmbmbmbmb
brule600 wrote:
Field Marshall Roe and I have once again run into a situation where we aren't sure how to interpret the rules, so we turn to the forum for advice on how you would handle it.

Here is the situation: Germany and Italy are at war with Russia, Great Britain and the U.S. Germany's minor allies aren't activated yet.

Can Great Britain still send foreign aid to Finland despite the presence of an active enemy (German 3-3 infantry) in Helsinki? I suppose it can but we want to make sure.


Yes Britain can, Rule 33.62: "...even those of garrisoned inactive Axis Minor Allies containing a garrison unit..."

brule600 wrote:
The trickier situation is with Bulgaria and Hungary. There's no land route through Turkey to Bulgaria in this game, so would a line of Germans and Italians along the border inside Rumania prevent foreign aid from getting down to Bulgaria. If so, would they also prevent aid from getting to Hungary through Bulgaria?


If Rumania is neutral, then those hexes are still garrisoned inactive Axis Minor Allied hexes...so a line of units would not stop the BRP SR

brule600 wrote:
We ask because the only reference we can find that seems relevant is under rule 33.62, which states that ``neutral hexes (even those of garrisoned inactive Axis Minor Allies containing a garrison unit) are treated as controlled'' for purposes of sending aid. Now that Russia and Germany are at war we are unsure whether those Axis units are considered `garrison' or not.

After all, their presence doesn't prevent a Russian DoW on the minor ally. So if they are no longer considered garrison units, would they now control the hexes they are on, negating the foreign aid exception?

Has anybody had this situation happen? How do you handle it?


Those Axis units in the minors are still "garrison" units, except they can now attack (and be attacked) across the neutral border. As reasoned: Germany is still limited to the 20 factor garrison max in the neutral minor allies while at war with Russia until the minor is activated (Rule 25.6)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Field Marshall Roe

New Jersey
msg tools
mb


Patrick wrote: If Rumania is neutral, then those hexes are still garrisoned inactive Axis Minor Allied hexes...so a line of units would not stop the BRP SR.

Hi Patrick, so the the rule below, doesn't apply in this situation?

Thx!


16.2 Units SR‘ed by land may move only over controlled,
supplied hexes (including hexes controlled by an ally).
Any SR'ed unit (ground, air, or naval) may not be
adjacent to nor pass adjacent to any enemy unit
including air, naval, airbase counter, and partisan at the
start, end, or at any point of its SR Exc. 29.66.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
mbmbmbmbmb
No it does not. That rule is about unit SR. The rule for foreign aid SR specifically makes an exception for enemy occupied hexes and their ZOC.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Field Marshall Roe

New Jersey
msg tools
mb


Hi Patrick,

So, only Russia can continue to send foreign Aid to Bulg.,Rum.,& Hung. But England can not, Since they do not occupy Gibraltar & the Suez.

correct?

F.M. Roe
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
mbmbmbmbmb
rar08823 wrote:


Hi Patrick,

So, only Russia can continue to send foreign Aid to Bulg.,Rum.,& Hung. But England can not, Since they do not occupy Gibraltar & the Suez.

correct?

F.M. Roe


If the UK has no naval route to some neutral port, say Athens, or through neutral Turkey then yes only Russia is in position to give aid to those nations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cox
United States
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"...There's no land route through Turkey to Bulgaria..."

Why? The crossing arrows at the Dardanelles (sorry, Bosporus) don't count for land movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jersey Guys
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mb
Hi, James. Note I said ``There's no land route through Turkey to Bulgaria IN THIS GAME...'' Germany has invaded Turkey from the Middle East and has a line of controlled hexes across the interior of Turkey preventing the passage of foreign aid.

Under other circumstances, yes, one could send the aid through Turkey under the rules as I understand them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.