Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Barlowe
United States
Clarks Summit
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
[Note: I was inspired to write this review after reading the last one posted here by Tico. I originally wrote most of this in response to his review, which I don't believe accurately reflects the play or depth of the game. This is not a point-by-point rebuttal, but I numbered it in case anyone wants to take me to task on anything or expand on these thoughts. Ultimately, games are very much according to taste. I hope that this review touches a chord with anyone on the fence about X-Wing, which is right now one of if not THE best-selling miniatures game in the US if not the world.]

Background

I started playing this "system" (Wings of War, what its based on) (FFG calls it "Flight Path") with Star Trek: Attack Wing, as it appeared to have more variety initially after release. I was also hoping to replicate the wonderful experience I had with Star Fleet Battles and its tournament scene back in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

My brother picked up X-Wing after we tried ST:AW, and I came away from X-Wing after a couple of casual games with the first couple of ship waves available feeling kind of "meh". It seemed that there were only a couple of ways to play: joust, or run around with the Falcon and shoot everything with your turret. I stuck with ST:A for a year.

Then my brother kept picking up new, amazing ships for X-Wing. The CR-90 transport, bombers, E-Wings, the Tantive IV epic ship. Then Scum started to appear, and an Imperial turreted ship. The K-Wing and Phantom.