$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 113.92

6,971 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
43.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Jeff C
msg tools
The “Card Draw” Special Action die result from Lords of Middle-earth allows a player to "draw one Event Card from either one of his Event decks". With the addition of the Faction Event deck, the question is, can a player use a “Card Draw” result to draw a Faction Event card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
brigade wrote:
The “Card Draw” Special Action die result from Lords of Middle-earth allows a player to "draw one Event Card from either one of his Event decks". With the addition of the Faction Event deck, the question is, can a player use a “Card Draw” result to draw a Faction Event card?

I would think this is legal, since the WoME rules say "As a general rule, a Faction Event card is considered to be an Event card, and is subject to the same rules and effects as any other Event card; the Faction Event deck is subject to the same rules and effects as any other Event deck."
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
Scotland
Elgin
Moray
flag msg tools
mbmb
Agreed - the main (only?) time they seem to not count is when an ability/card specifies a certain type of event card, e.g. Character event card.

This is clear, and may seem obvious, but needed clarifying since Faction cards do have Character/Army/Muster symbols on them to show their card type. But so far as I can tell that's purely to allow you to play them using the corresponding Action Die result; it doesn't mean playing them (or Call to Battle cards) will trigger e.g. Black Captain's ability to draw another card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.