$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 104.03

6,527 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Range and Monster Movement and Ties on Events rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
lowplayercount.com
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Playing starting scenario, app says to move monster "within range of as many investigators as possible". Does a monster have to be in the same space as an investigator to attack them? Are monster attacks melee AND ranged, whatever they need to be? In this case, would the monster place itself equidistant from all investigators and then attack?

2) If the event says "investigator with most items" and we both have the same number, do we choose the affected investigator?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soak man
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kelann08 wrote:
1) Playing starting scenario, app says to move monster "within range of as many investigators as possible". Does a monster have to be in the same space as an investigator to attack them? Are monster attacks melee AND ranged, whatever they need to be? In this case, would the monster place itself equidistant from all investigators and then attack?

2) If the event says "investigator with most items" and we both have the same number, do we choose the affected investigator?


1). If it says within range, then no, the monster does not have to be in the same space. It just has to be within range.

It would place itself equidistant if it could reach both/all investigators. If it had the option to reach one, or move equidistant and attack NONE, it would move as close to the one it could reach (up to being in the same space) as possible.

2). See conflict in the reference guide. Also, maybe see items. Keep in mind that only common items and unique items are items. Spells and conditions are not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The monster need not be equidistance. It just moves to the location where it is in range of as much investigators as possible and it stops as soon as it it. It doesn't move a space further if it does not increase the amount of investigators in range. Likely (but not necessarily) it will do a ranged attack afterwards targeting all investigators in range.

2. Rules reference, 2nd page, under conflicts. The players decide whenever multiple monsters/investigators are affected by something or when multiple effects happen simultaneously, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Also just a note, since no one has mentioned it yet. "In range" means "Within 3 spaces". So the monster would move to where it had the most investigators within 3 spaces of its position.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Holmberg
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Inmat4251 wrote:
Also just a note, since no one has mentioned it yet. "In range" means "Within 3 spaces". So the monster would move to where it had the most investigators within 3 spaces of its position.


Hm... 3 spaces is pretty far. A ranged attack from a monster that is 3 spaces away seems a bit too long, are you 100% sure? Isn't the range of a monster just "in the monsters space"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Duke
United Kingdom
Fleet
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference p15 wrote:
Range
The range of effects that use the phrase “within range” is up to three spaces away.
- Range cannot be counted through walls or doors unless an effect specifically allows it.
- Range can be counted through impassable borders.

So, yes, it can be up to 3 spaces away in outdoor areas or long hallways, etc, but in small indoor rooms it essentially means "in the same room".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Williams
United States
Midlothian
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
CeeTee2001 wrote:
Inmat4251 wrote:
Also just a note, since no one has mentioned it yet. "In range" means "Within 3 spaces". So the monster would move to where it had the most investigators within 3 spaces of its position.


Hm... 3 spaces is pretty far. A ranged attack from a monster that is 3 spaces away seems a bit too long, are you 100% sure? Isn't the range of a monster just "in the monsters space"?


Keep in mind all of the things that block line of sight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
CeeTee2001 wrote:
Inmat4251 wrote:
Also just a note, since no one has mentioned it yet. "In range" means "Within 3 spaces". So the monster would move to where it had the most investigators within 3 spaces of its position.


Hm... 3 spaces is pretty far. A ranged attack from a monster that is 3 spaces away seems a bit too long, are you 100% sure? Isn't the range of a monster just "in the monsters space"?


It's an easy enough matter to look up "Range" in the Rules Reference Guide:

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julia
msg tools
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
badge
Amor, sola lex
mbmbmbmbmb
CeeTee2001 wrote:
Inmat4251 wrote:
Also just a note, since no one has mentioned it yet. "In range" means "Within 3 spaces". So the monster would move to where it had the most investigators within 3 spaces of its position.


Hm... 3 spaces is pretty far. A ranged attack from a monster that is 3 spaces away seems a bit too long, are you 100% sure? Isn't the range of a monster just "in the monsters space"?


If so, then why using the range wording instead of saying as you suggested "in thè mon sterling space"? And what would have been the difference between ranged and melee attacks for monsters, had range meant the monster space? And why range would have meant something for investigators and something else for monsters? Having the same word meaning two different things is confusing.

Range is range, and it's defined as in Chris' above answer
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.