$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 100.62

6,370 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
40.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Waterloo 20» Forums » Rules

Subject: Elite rout rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Schreiner
msg tools
Can a routed elite unit elect to NOT use its -2 die roll modifier? There may be times when a routed elite unit might want to put itself out of range of an advancing victorious enemy unit so it can recuperate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule [9.6.2.1] (which governs Elite unit retreats) does not state that the -2 reduction may be taken (i.e. at the owning player's option). Thus, to my thinking, this means that the reduction must be applied. If you're looking for a rationale, just assume the situation has become a "matter of honor" to the elite unit's men and commander.

Note that this is distinctly different from the wording that pertains to the other form of retreat reduction, which says "...a unit in a Fortified or Redoubt hex can ignore Withdraw results entirely, and Retreat one hex fewer if it Routs." The word "can" implies there is a choice involved, which means that it's the owning player's option as to whether he applies the reduction or not.

Hope that clears things up.

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Schreiner
msg tools
That's a good rationale. They don't know what's going to happen next. As Gilda Radner used to say, "Never mind!"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.