$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.41

7,510 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Turn 4 Scenario Start Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry Setser
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Carl,

Back at the game after a lengthy hiatus - a gentleman has convinced me to kick off an e-game. We're off and running.

This is likely an easy question to tend to - when you draw your hand of six cards at scenario 4 start, do you actually play and resolve any "Play Immediately" cards, or do you merely discard them to draw a replacement card?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Ste-Thérèse
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
bsets wrote:
Carl,

Back at the game after a lengthy hiatus - a gentleman has convinced me to kick off an e-game. We're off and running.

This is likely an easy question to tend to - when you draw your hand of six cards at scenario 4 start, do you actually play and resolve any "Play Immediately" cards, or do you merely discard them to draw a replacement card?



Yes, you resolve the "Play Immediately" cards.

Do not forget to implement the change added to the card draws on the "Living Rules" Playbook.

http://www.gmtgames.com/noretreat4/NRIF_Playbook.pdf

Namely, section 18 of the scenarios.

Diadem Scenario:

18. Game Start: The game starts with the Game Turn
Event Phase (see 4.0). During the Strategic Phase (8.0)
both players continue drawing cards until they actually
have four more than they started that Phase with in their
card hand.



Gothic Line Scenario:


18. Game Start: The game starts with the Game Turn
Event Phase (see 4.0). During the Strategic Phase (8.0)
both players will continue drawing cards until they actually
have three more than they started that Phase in their
card hand.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Setser
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know you're itching to end the war Carl, but we're still in North Africa, not Italy

I do realize that it is very hard to keep it all straight with the numerous games you're working on!

Krikey - I probably got the scenario name wrong in NR-NA. Meant to say the scenario that starts on turn 4 modest
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Ste-Thérèse
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
bsets wrote:
I know you're itching to end the war Carl, but we're still in North Africa, not Italy


Oops... let me check that one...

If I look at the Scenario Booklet,

Starting on Turn 4, it is "Operation Sunflower", Scenario Instructions, page 4, it states:

"8. Shuffle the Event card deck and place it face-down
to form the Draw Pile. The Axis player then draws six
cards from the top of the Draw Pile, discarding and
replacing any card with an “Immediately” Axis Event
(e.g., Mare Nostrum)
. Reshuffle the deck and discards.
Then, the Allied player draws six cards, discarding and
replacing any card with an “Immediately” Allied Event
(e.g., War Without Hate). Again, reshuffle the deck
with any discards"


So yes, you discard them without any effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Setser
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Goodness, not the answer I was expecting, though in this game you saved me some considerable grief as I drew Heergruupe Afrika on the first turn as the Allies. Not really the card you want the Germans to start with in the scenario
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Ste-Thérèse
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
bsets wrote:
Goodness, not the answer I was expecting


Well, it's in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.