$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 134.71

7,856 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Guadalcanal – The Pacific 1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Facing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Joss
United Kingdom
Renfrew
Renfrewshire
flag msg tools
mbmb
Do units stacked in the same hex have to adopt the same facing?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Luksich
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope! This is particularly relevant for close combat situations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DELTA2468 wrote:
Nope! This is particularly relevant for close combat situations.


Why does facing matter in close combat?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Joss
United Kingdom
Renfrew
Renfrewshire
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for replying.

I couldn't find anything in the rules that seemed to cover stacking and unit facing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Its not in the rules because stacking does not affect facing.

Facing is not relevant to CC. Perhaps he meant short range. The only possible relevancy would be cost to "exit" out of a CC, because certain hexes may not allow exit:

Quote:
If the defending unit decides to retreat out of the hex, it may not move into the same hex or either of the two adjacent hexes from which the advancing unit had just moved from. It may move into these hexes in later actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Joss
United Kingdom
Renfrew
Renfrewshire
flag msg tools
mbmb
What about firing into a stacked hex?

Facing is relevant to the defence value of the unit receiving fire I.e. Front fire or flank attack.

Units in the stacked hex are attacked separately in which case each units facing affects it's defence value.

So can individual units in a stacked hex each have different facing?Certainly seems to matter for fire combat.

Granted it makes no difference for close combat as the attack is automatically resolved against the attacked units flank defence value.

The rules relating to stacking/combat don't seem to mention unit facing within stacks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure, facing matters for firing, but we were talking about the affect of facing on CC.

The rules about stacking don't need to mention facing because they don't affect facing rules.

Also, units don't move as a stack, per se. Although they can group move, facing of each unit can be altered after the move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.