$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.66

4,622 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.1% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about Syndicate action during Propaganda phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
brian smolinski

Los Angeles
California
msg tools
6.2.4 says that the Syndicate may remove a cash marker to open a closed casino at that location. But why would the Syndicate choose to do this if all casinos open during the Reset Phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josiah Henn
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Because a casino opened with cash counts towards victory (clarification, sorry: in the final round only!)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Victory happens before the Resource Phase. The only time opening Closed Casinos is useful is to either affect Control (which will matter during the Support and Redeploy phases) and during the final Propaganda card, to count towards endgame score.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian smolinski

Los Angeles
California
msg tools
Turbine2k5 wrote:
No. Victory happens before the Resource Phase. The only time opening Closed Casinos is useful is to either affect Control (which will matter during the Support and Redeploy phases) and during the final Propaganda card, to count towards endgame score.


Ah, I didn't think about affecting Control. And yes, the final Propaganda card would not have a reset phase so opening as many casinos as possible would make sense. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josiah Henn
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Turbine2k5 wrote:
No. Victory happens before the Resource Phase.


Unless it's the final round, in which case it clearly does affect victory.

Quote:

6.2.4 Cash Deposits. 26July, then Directorio, Government, and
Syndicate remove any Cash (4.5.2) that they own, selecting to
receive for each marker either an available Base (or open Casino)
of that Faction at the Cash’s location (within stacking, 1.4.2) or
+6 Resources. Syndicate may instead open a closed Casino at the
location. NOTE: Bases placed or Casinos opened at this point can
affect Control or Game End victory (1.7, 6.3.5, 7.3).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian smolinski

Los Angeles
California
msg tools
gameon39481 wrote:
Turbine2k5 wrote:
No. Victory happens before the Resource Phase.


Unless it's the final round, in which case it clearly does affect victory.

Quote:

6.2.4 Cash Deposits. 26July, then Directorio, Government, and
Syndicate remove any Cash (4.5.2) that they own, selecting to
receive for each marker either an available Base (or open Casino)
of that Faction at the Cash’s location (within stacking, 1.4.2) or
+6 Resources. Syndicate may instead open a closed Casino at the
location. NOTE: Bases placed or Casinos opened at this point can
affect Control or Game End victory (1.7, 6.3.5, 7.3).


Yea, it would help if I actually read the entire paragraph!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
gameon39481 wrote:
Turbine2k5 wrote:
No. Victory happens before the Resource Phase.


Unless it's the final round, in which case it clearly does affect victory.

Read the whole post. I did say that it does effect Game End score.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.