$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 58.86

4,246 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
26.8% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Somaliland 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attrition table rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 8.4 says to roll for attrition using the unit column. Roll where?

In the rules booklet there is an attrition/aeral table but it does not have unit types. Is a table missing?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, the procedure is to roll 1D6 and if the value is less than or equal to a value there is a hit.

But encircled units roll 2D6? They won't ever have a hit. What's wrong?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is an attrition column in the terrain table. But in this case you don't check the unit type but the terrain type.

And also, rolling 1D6 would be clear but rolling 2D6 for isolated units make no sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piergennaro Federico
Italy
Milano
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You must use the terrain table for attrition. I do not know why the rules say unit type, but I suppose it is my fault.
The OOS unit consults the Attrition column on the TET and rolls 1d6. If the result is less than or equal to the number indicated, the unit receives 1 Combat Hit (CH). Units that are completely surrounded by enemy
units or enemy ZoC roll 2d6 for attrition and can receive up to 2 CH.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand the part with 1d6, but not the part with 2d6.
Maybe you mean that surrounded units roll 1d6 twice? That's rolling two times one single die and applying the possible result twice?

What I mean is that the notation "2d6" usually means to roll two dies and sum the results, which makes no sense here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piergennaro Federico
Italy
Milano
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
marticabre wrote:
That's rolling two times one single die and applying the possible result twice?


Yes, it is. I am sorry that the rule confound
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, now it's clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.