$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 133.23

7,795 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Glorantha: The Gods War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does an Imbedded Chaos Nest count as "not a Chaos Nest"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mb
The Sky faction has one heroquest that requires you to conquer a Shrine or Chaos Nest and another heroquest that requires you to conquer a building that is not a Shrine nor a Chaos Nest.

What does an Imbedded Chaos Nest count as?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Vanpelt
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would guess a Chaos Nest still.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
it's your sister Cheryl!
badge
I work for Petersen Games. AMA
mbmbmbmbmb
an Imbedded Chaos Nest is still just a Chaos Nest as well (just better).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Lanrezac
France
Chatou
Yvelines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
existoid wrote:
an Imbedded Chaos Nest is still just a Chaos Nest as well (just better).


So, as Chaos, if I have both embedded and "classic" Chaos Nests, do I gain 2 or 4 Power during Power phase ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mb
existoid wrote:
an Imbedded Chaos Nest is still just a Chaos Nest as well (just better).

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starks
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pitpipo wrote:
existoid wrote:
an Imbedded Chaos Nest is still just a Chaos Nest as well (just better).


So, as Chaos, if I have both embedded and "classic" Chaos Nests, do I gain 2 or 4 Power during Power phase ?

I asked this question a while back, and the answer is "No", because they are the same building type.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Lanrezac
France
Chatou
Yvelines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AdamStarks wrote:

I asked this question a while back, and the answer is "No", because they are the same building type.


Poor Chaos, really a loveless empire...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandy Petersen
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
I wrote the first-ever Lovecraft game.
mbmbmbmbmb
An Imbedded Chaos Nest is still a Chaos Nest. Chaos never gets more than 2 Power for its total building types. Poor little Chaos. They don't get the Glorantha boost either. Or even heroes or lesser gods. Alas for Chaos.

For some reason, people still keep wanting to play Chaos though. Go figure. It's the most popular faction by a long shot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
clarence
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone guide me how chaos get power from their building?

If Chaos have 4 Nest and 2 Imbedded nest that shares an Area with
an enemy's building.

And 1 Nest which doesn't not share an Area with an enemy's building.

How much power does it gather?

Earn 2 power per building type. Chaos have 1 type of building.
4 Chaos nest produce 1 power each because of festering.
2 Imbedded Nest produce 1 extra power
1 Nest doesn't not share with enemy building doesn't benefit from festering.
2+1+1+1+1+2+2=10?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starks
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chaos only has 6 nests available (Imbedded nests are simply regular nests flipped over).

So in your example with 4 regular nests and 2 Imbedded nests, 1 nest does not share an area with an enemy building, which implies the other 5 do. That means you get 5 power for Festering, 2 Power for 1+ Chaos Nests on the map, and 1 Power each for the Imbedded nests (regardless of whether they share an area with an enemy building), for a total of 9 power.

Small point: if you have Imbedded nests, that necessarily means you have the Imbed gift, which means you get at least 1 extra power from having a partially-completed Fragment, therefore putting you at 10 power.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guillaume Andriot
France
flag msg tools
So 5 nests total, 4 of wich are in the same area as an enemy building and 2 are inbeded ? Easy:

- Only one building type = 2 power
- +1 per nest in the same area as an enemy building (festering) = 4 power
- +1 per indbeded nest = 2 power

So 8 power total.

Add bonus power for fragments and in the Council Phase don't forget I Fought We Won.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.