$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 76.54

5,197 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
32.7% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » General

Subject: Code puzzle problem/bug? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Slater
Canada
flag msg tools
I was recently confronted with a code puzzle in the app in the first scenario, with 5 possible glyphs to configure. I guessed once and had 1 elder sign indicating a correct position, and 4 clue icons indicating correct glyph by wrong position. The next guess I got 5 elder sign indicators, but the puzzle didn't end! All I got was a buzzer noise, like i had guessed wrong.
What do I need to do? Is this a bug?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you got 5 elder signs and it didn't end the puzzle then that's a bug for sure. Report it to FFG over at their website.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Slater
Canada
flag msg tools
So is the app supposed to say, "Puzzle complete" when you guess correctly (ie. full elder sign symbols?)? Man, that's annoying. I felt like things had come down to the wire - one person injured, both insane, end of the world happening, and my second random guess gets it right...and...nothing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Slater
Canada
flag msg tools
Actually it looks like it only ever shows 4 icons for glyph location, not 5, despite the puzzle requiring 5 glyphs. Definitely a bug.
http://imgur.com/SNZavZV
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Johnsson
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not a bug, one of the symbols should be used twice in this case (and one symbol will not be used).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Anglemark
Sweden
Storvreta
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the game in front of me, but is it impossible to use the same glyph in two positions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Johnsson
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jophan wrote:
I don't have the game in front of me, but is it impossible to use the same glyph in two positions?


Nope, it should very much be a possibility to have multiple of the same glyph.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
spiraljacobs wrote:
Actually it looks like it only ever shows 4 icons for glyph location, not 5, despite the puzzle requiring 5 glyphs. Definitely a bug.
http://imgur.com/SNZavZV

Hang on, doesn't your image just show that you haven't yet completed the puzzle?

How is this a bug? You've only solved 4 of the 5 spaces, the puzzle hasn't completed since you haven't yet supplied it with the answer.

I think this is what Peter, above, is also saying.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, not a bug. It just means that four out of the five glyphs are correct and in the correct slots, and the fifth glyph is completely wrong.

User bug, not app bug.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Masters
England
flag msg tools
#!STRING_NOT_FOUND!#
badge
Son of Jor-El
mbmbmbmbmb
This threw me at first but as others have stated correctly, the glyph puzzles don't necessarily require you to use all 5 glyphs - if they did then the magnifying glass icon would be pointless because you would always have to use one of each glyph.

The first time I encountered one of these puzzles I was really confused what was going on until I realised that I needed to use one of the glyphs three times in the solution.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Slater
Canada
flag msg tools
Yeah, that's what I was wondering, if I was doing something wrong.
Poor explanation, but now that I know, I'm good to go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Logan
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
My words literally betray me.
mbmbmbmbmb
spiraljacobs wrote:
Yeah, that's what I was wondering, if I was doing something wrong.
Poor explanation, but now that I know, I'm good to go.


The rules do show attempts at using the same glyph multiple times, but perhaps somebody else did the explaining to you.


(but the rules also show a guess that couldn't possibly be correct, as there were only 2 possible combinations left after the first 3 guesses.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.