Spirits of the Rice Paddy» Forums » General

Subject: Spirit #1 too strong? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martijn Weekenstroo
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Played a 4p game last week and we all really enjoyed the game! We did all had the feeling though that the #1 spirit was a bit OP.. Was wondering if this was just circumstances, poor play by the rest or of more people have had this feeling?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dok Indigo
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Don't have the game at hand and can't remember. What does the spirit #1 do?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunter Bennett-Daggett
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cito88 wrote:
Played a 4p game last week and we all really enjoyed the game! We did all had the feeling though that the #1 spirit was a bit OP.. Was wondering if this was just circumstances, poor play by the rest or of more people have had this feeling?

I'm no expert on the game, but I do have 22 plays at a variety of player counts so I feel I have a pretty good depth of experience. While some of the spirits are useful in a wider range of circumstances than others, in general I haven't found any to be useless or over-powered. I really like Spirit #1 (allows you to look ahead at the the next card in the rain deck, and also puts you permanently at the head of the line when selecting achievements) because I like having a little more information, but I have definitely lost badly when using it. Often times just knowing what's coming doesn't allow you to do too much to counteract it, beyond perhaps changing what you buy at market if you're preparing for pests/weeds. And picking achievements first is great, but only if you can get the necessary "stuff", and most of the other spirits will help you more with that. For instance, the spirits that give you free workers and/or animals are enormously useful both for standard tasks and getting achievements, and you can argue that by taking Sp