$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 97.74

6,236 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
39.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Here, Kitty, Kitty!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Score sheet clarification? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Thiel
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that the 5 point bonus for 5 or more cats of the same color is NOT 5 points for each set of 5 cats. However, the score sheet has separate lines for 5+ grey cats, 5+ white cats, etc. Shouldn't there be a single line for this bonus, similar to the line for 1 of each color?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hymowitz
United States
Elkridge
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't get 10 points for having 10 White cats, or 10 points for having 12 Grey cats. But you can get 5 points for having 10 (more than 5) White cats plus 5 points for having 12 (more than 5) Gray cats.

The rule book itself is not specific, but the score sheet seems pretty clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Thiel
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd argue that both the score sheet and the rulebook are pretty clear, but that they're pretty clearly not saying the same thing.

• 1 Cat of each color on your property = 5 points (Note: This is not 5 points for each set of 1 Cat of every color.)

My reading is that you receive a one-time 5 point bonus if you have 1 cat of each color. Having 2 or more of each color does not grant additional bonuses.

• 5 or more Cats of the same color on your property = 5 points (Note: This is not 5 points for each set of 5 Cats of the same color.)

I agree that the score sheet suggests that there's a 5 point bonus for having 5+ white cats, another for 5+ black cats, etc.

Yet the wording here is nearly identical to that of the "1 cat of each color" rule. It implies that this too is a one-time bonus.

Then there's this:

• Most Cats of a single color on your property = 3 points (Note: Determine the player with the most Cats for each of the 4 colors. In case of ties, each player tying gets 3 points.)

Here, the book clearly states that there are separate bonuses for each color. Why make that distinction here, but not for the "5 or more cats" rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris McCardel Ware
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The statement in the rulebook (Note: This is not 5 points for each set of 5 cats of the same color.) was included in an attempt to clarify that this bonus is for collecting a set of *5 or more cats of any single color*, not for *each set of 5 cats of any single color*, because it is possible to get all 10 cats of any single color, and in play testing, we did have someone claim that they should get a double bonus for having collected 2 sets of 5 white cats. The scoresheet is designed to make tallying your points simpler, and because a single player can collect sets of 5+ cats of more than one color (e.g., white and orange), the scoresheet needs separate lines for each color to avoid confusion.

I have submitted your question as a potential FAQ for Fireside's game page.

Thanks for playing!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Thiel
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That helps! Thanks! It's a fun, silly and adorable game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.