$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 68.89

4,796 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
30.2% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

New Bedford: Rising Tide» Forums » Rules

Subject: Coffin, the rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bijan Ajamlou
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I dont understand this card. What is a turn? Nowhere in the rules are a turn mentioned or clarified... Is it a round? or a specific phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Levan
United States
Glenside
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Hast ye seen the White Whale?
mbmbmbmbmb
A turn is a normal placement of a worker in the action phase.
So The Coffin effectively adds an action phase where you are the only player, and you have only one worker.
It is a "normal turn" in that you place that worker as you would during any normal round of play. It can be a town action space, including any bonus because all other players will have returned their workers at the end of round 12. It can be a building action, paying if you use an opponent's as normal, and all buildings will likewise be empty and available.
You also have the option to buy wood or food using the special action before placing the worker, as you would on any normal action.

That worker would also remain on the space through the end of the game, so buildings that normally wouldn't be active in the final return phase (like the Refinery or Customhouse) are, in fact, active.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bijan Ajamlou
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why did you create such a cluttered design, why not just make it simpler. The coffin gives you x. What is the thematic sense that a coffin gives you a turn? And why have to similar effects one in the promo and one in the coffin that are so similar but ad so much rules overlay. Cant this card be erratad to you find 4 coins...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Levan
United States
Glenside
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Hast ye seen the White Whale?
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of Moby Dick, the protagonist Ishmael is saved by the unused coffin of his friend Queequeg. Grasping that coffin at the last moment is the only thing that saves him. The Coffin card is a reference to that, it gives you one last chance at the very end to make a move that can potentially save you from losing.

The explanation above is simply "place a worker like you normally would if it was your turn during a round of the game." Because it is a "normal" action, all of the rules above apply.
I added all the normal rules as clarification to make it explicit that things like town bonuses and paying to use buildings also still apply.

If there's a clearer way of presenting that on the card besides "take a turn", I'm happy to make a change in the future.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.