$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.34

7,507 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Small Star Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Damaged ship movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert F-C
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that

Quote:
Sometimes, a ship can get damaged during a game. When a ship gets damaged turn it horizontally on the board.
Damaged ships have 2 movement, meaning they can only move two spaces in any direction instead of unlimited number of spaces.
They also cannot enter Unexplored Systems.
Damaged ships CAN enter their Homeworld Systems for repairs. When a damaged ship enters its Homeworld System, repair it (turn it in its original vertical position). From now on, that ship may move regularly.


Now a ship may not move into a system already owned by the player and a damaged ship may not enter unexplored systems, so doesn't this mean that a damaged ship is "dead in the water" if it is more tha 2 spaces (in a straight line) from its Homeworld System?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Peckham
England
Dorking
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You would be able to enter explored (but unclaimed) systems, so as long as there was a route back to your home base, you'd be able to get their eventually!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milan Tasevski
Macedonia
Skopje
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Robert,

Yes, just as Matthew said, you would be able to enter non-colonized systems (and BTW colonize them on your way) until you can enter your homeworld system and repair your ship. In short, damaged ships don't have unlimited spaces to move in a single turn. :)

Thanks for the question!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert F-C
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks - yeah I confused unexplored with non-colonized.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.