$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 118.04

7,151 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shifting Sands» Forums » Rules

Subject: Matildas ...combined with Victoria Cross ?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
Let's say the brits have 3 brigades in Kassala...attacking Keren

By playing Victoria Cross... they now use the Division Table..

Can Matildas then also be played for this attack...cancelling the
terrain/fort effects ?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't think of anything prohibiting it.

It's a heavy commitment of Allied combat cards to East Africa but presumably the tradeoff - not using those cards elsewhere - is worth it.

Michael Rinella
Designer, Shifting Sands
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
really?... Matildas card seems to require one Division in the attack..

Victoria Cross allows attacking brigades to fire on the Division table

So that satisfies the Matilda requirement ??


With 3 brigades in Kassala (with armor) seems worth it to use both
combat cards...and smash thru Keren ....and advance thru Massawa
and capture an empty Amba Aliga
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, I was thinking of a different "tricky" move the Allied player may make. I knew Matildas could be used in East Africa but I forgot the circumstance.

The Victoria Cross card would not allow play of the Matildas card.

But the presence of an Allied division, even an infantry division, does allow play of Matildas (the tanks are considered to be attached to the division and not an independent battlegroup). That was the use I was thinking of.

Apologies for the mix-up.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.