$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.89

6,657 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: event withdrawals rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim K
United States
Palatine
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A few questions came up in the game Barry and I are playing.

1) Not all Allied units have a nationality identified (e.g., Guards). It seems reasonable all such units should not be considered Indian, Australian, New Zealand, etc. However, are they considered British?

2) When an event requires specific unit withdrawal (e.g., British or Indian infantry) is one required to choose units so specifically identified if they are available?

3) If the answer to 1 is yes, please confirm unidentified units of the appropriate type may satisfy British unit withdrawals.

4) Can mechanized infantry ever satisfy infantry withdrawal requirements?

5) When two Org Phase unit withdrawal events occur on the same turn (e.g., an event is advanced to the same turn as another) are the withdrawal events implemented simultaneously? If not, which is implemented first?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Ste-Thérèse
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
htjester wrote:

1) Not all Allied units have a nationality identified (e.g., Guards). It seems reasonable all such units should not be considered Indian, Australian, New Zealand, etc. However, are they considered British?


For withdrawal purposes they are not considered British.

htjester wrote:

2) When an event requires specific unit withdrawal (e.g., British or Indian infantry) is one required to choose units so specifically identified if they are available?


Yes.

htjester wrote:

3) If the answer to 1 is yes, please confirm unidentified units of the appropriate type may satisfy British unit withdrawals.


Consider British units all units not of the Commonwealth. Check unit types symbols, Page 3, last lines of the page:

"Colored symbol boxes for the Allies represent the Commonwealth nationalities."

htjester wrote:

4) Can mechanized infantry ever satisfy infantry withdrawal requirements?


No, Mechanized Infantry is a "Mechanized" unit type, not an Infantry Type, as per unit types symbols, Page 3


htjester wrote:

5) When two Org Phase unit withdrawal events occur on the same turn (e.g., an event is advanced to the same turn as another) are the withdrawal events implemented simultaneously? If not, which is implemented first?


Yes do them simultaneously: Combine them in one withdrawal event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim K
United States
Palatine
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait; answers 1 & 3 seem contradictory, unless such unidentified units may be considered British for something besides event unit withdrawal.

Look for session posts soon about my game with Barry. I want to spread the love for NRNA.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.