$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 104.64

6,555 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Implementing as much of an Event as possible rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Wigdor
United States
Lake Hiawatha
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Hi, A question about Rule 5.1.3, which says that we should implement as much of an Event as possible.

I have a question about how this applies to Events with the wording "up to n" in them, for example, Nam Dong:

Quote:
Remove up to 3 Guerrillas from a Province with a COIN Base. Set the space to Active Support


Am I correct that this is interpreted differently than if the wording was simply "remove 3 Guerillas;" this is, in this instance the Event player has the choice of removing fewer than 3 guerillas? May he choose a space with fewer than 3?

If so, is it permitted to choose a space with no Guerillas just to set it to Active Support? Or does Remove up to 3 mean "at least 1?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthonii ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Australia
flag msg tools
4.6 Five Mississippi
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can choose to remove 0?,1,2,3 geurillas. But you must set the location to active support.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that if the wording was "remove 3 guerillas" you could still choose a space with less then 3 guerillas if there were no spaces available that met the conditions and had 3 or more guerillas*, but whichever space you chose you would have to remove 3 guerillas or all the guerillas in the space if there are less than 3.

* Editied for clarity based on Oerjan's post below.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
reverendunclebastard wrote:
Note that if the wording was "remove 3 guerillas" you could still choose a space with less then 3 guerillas,

..only if there is no space that meets the other conditions and also has 3 or more Guerrillas. If there is a space where you could remove 3 Guerrillas, you would not be allowed to choose a space with fewer than 3 Guerrillas.

Regards,
Oerjan
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.