$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 133.31

7,798 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

1844/1854» Forums » Rules

Subject: [1854] Stupid (but possible?) What If? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Childs
msg tools
What if in the early stages of the game 2 tunnels are built in either hex D18 or hex D20? (Nothing in the rules seems to explicitly forbid it.)

What would then happen when the locals started merging?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can build green cities over tunnels, but not vice versa.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Think of it this way: If a city is already in place and you try to build a tunnel, people will raise all sorts of zoning objections at the City Council and you will never succeed.

On the other hand, if a tunnel is already there, there will still be many lovely building lots. People will come and build a city anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Childs
msg tools
I did say *2* tunnels - with 4 hex sides used by tunnels, a green city tile (with 4 connections of its own) cannot be laid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustav Weberup
Sweden
Lund
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The game breaks!

I'd house rule max 1 tunnel on each of those hexes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evelin Auger
Canada
Portneuf
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Webbe wrote:
The game breaks!

I'd house rule max 1 tunnel on each of those hexes.


I agree with this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave K
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Love 'em even if a few games get scuttled from time to time.
badge
Meow.
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there an official ruling on this available?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.