$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 131.59

7,727 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: dogs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lara Spitz
msg tools
Hey everyone,

I do not really understand how the item card "dogs" works.

So if a hunter enters a location and dracula immediately reveals the card "wolves", is it possible for the hunter to play the dogs and thus negate the wolves completely?
From my understanding of the cards (and the german rules) this would not be possible, because dogs can only be played before searching and location. But would that not make cards like dogs almost useless, because dracula always reveals cards like wolves immediately (there a few reasons not to)?

Thank you very much for your answers!

Greetings.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is why not to reveal cards automatically:
First - if you automatically ambush with non-vampire cards, you save the hunters actions (they don't have to search).
Second - the hunters know that if you don't ambush, the card is a vampire, and will plan accordingly.

So if you don't ambush with the Wolves, the hunter either has to use another action to search or ignore it and let the card mature.
You have either cost the hunters a precious action (and might still get the effect) or get the mature ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zsolt Nagy
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just like many other cards, this one is simply poorly written/formatted. Because first it mentions "reveal this card before you search" than it speaks about ambush. Ambush and search are two different things and they can't happen at the same time. So the two card effects have to be handled separately:

1) When you search, you may reveal this card first. Than if your search action reveals "Rats", "Saboteur,' "Spy", or "Wolves" than these encounter cards are discarded without effect(and you keep the Dogs card).

2) When you are ambushed by a "Rats", "Saboteur,' "Spy", or "Wolves" encounter card than you may discard Dogs to discard that encounter card without effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.