$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 77.36

5,239 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle continue after one side disappears? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
IN our game last night, the humans were in a battle with 1 trog. The Trog player used a skill to remove the last remaining Trog. (He didn't move out, he was removed.)

Is this allowed?

The rules provide for the situation when one side has no units remaining, saying that no battle occurs during battle resolution.

But, does the battle token remain? Can the human player move out of the space now?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
boomtron wrote:
IN our game last night, the humans were in a battle with 1 trog. The Trog player used a skill to remove the last remaining Trog. (He didn't move out, he was removed.)

Is this allowed?

The rules provide for the situation when one side has no units remaining, saying that no battle occurs during battle resolution.

But, does the battle token remain? Can the human player move out of the space now?


A few things here.

Unless the skill explicitly states, you cannot eliminate a Trog from a Battle Region. So if this is disappear, this wasn't a legal elimination.

BUT.

Let's say the Machines use a Shred Drone to eliminate all enemy combatants from one side. The rules state that if two combatants do not exist, you remove the battle token and it is no longer a battle region.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:

Unless the skill explicitly states, you cannot eliminate a Trog from a Battle Region. So if this is disappear, this wasn't a legal elimination.



Oh, cool. Is that in the rules?
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
boomtron wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:

Unless the skill explicitly states, you cannot eliminate a Trog from a Battle Region. So if this is disappear, this wasn't a legal elimination.



Oh, cool. Is that in the rules?
Thanks.


There's a large block of text that basically says, unless noted, Battle Regions are CUT OFF.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that is the intention, now, from your (wonderful) help in the rules forums. But here is the text I am assuming you refer to:
Quote:

IMPORTANT BATTLE REGION RULES
• A Region with a Battle token is known as a Battle Region.
• No further Units from any player may enter any Region
with a Battle token.
• Place one of the Attacker’s Units on top of the Battle token to
remember who the Attacker is.
• Structures cannot be Built in a Battle Region.
• Structures cannot be activated in a Battle Region unless explicitly
noted.
• The defending player may use a Movement Action on their turn to
leave a Battle Region. However, they may only Move Units out of
the Region in excess of twice the number of Units belonging to the
Attacker.
Example: The Pilgrim player Moves 3 Units into a Region with 8 Human Units.
A Battle token is placed in the Region. No other Units may be Moved into this
Region. On the Humans’ turn, they may Move up to 2 Units out of the Region
(as 3 Pilgrim Units ‘block’ 6 Human Units).

None of that implies that the Trog player cannot use the disappear skill in a battle region. There are bits about Structures. There are bits about leaving via a move action. There are no bits about skills.

Looking forward to that official FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry. The TLDR intent is that a battle region is locked. Unless explicitly stated otherwise.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RIK FONTANA
United States
St. George
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Have to say, I can understand Lucas' confusion.

We had this situation in both of our previous games and tonight (after the fact) I found this Forum topic.

In honesty, given that Disappear is the Trogs DEFAULT Skill, which means it shows up in Every game, I'm surprised it's not specifically addressed in the rules.

Grant, without meaning to be difficult, you point to the Battle Rules, as outlined in the manual. But on page 13, your own Golden Rule is that card text overrides the Rules book. And the text on the card is: "REMOVE ONE OF YOUR UNITS IN ANY REGION. Add a trog war party token to any unoccupied region".
In the second sentence you specify the TYPE of region. In the first sentence you merely state Any region.
This should have been worded differently if that was not your intent.

Anyway, appreciate that you answered the question and we'll change the way we play it......
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan K
United States
Canton
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We had this question when I played last week. But the rule in the FAQ that helped the most was the one saying Battle Regions are LOCKED down, unless a card explicitly states it can affect a Battle Region. That was very helpful in the FAQs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.