Subject: When should you let a black hole swallow your ship? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lisa Johnson
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
Hello all! This is my first time posting on BGG. My husband and I are working on a game called Devil's Vortex. It is a 2-6 player game. The theme surrounds the player navigating the gravity well of a black hole. The singularity also pulls in debris and creates anomalies which can help or hurt your progress. Players roll ten six-sided dice to determine movement, debris entry into the gravity well as well as global effects coming from the singularity. Not trying to hawk our site but I'm not sure that I'm describing this well and this page has a much better explanation:
http://www.luffgames.com/devil-s-vortex

So, here is our dilemma. We have two levels of play for two different play-styles.

At it's core the game is a fast-paced fun race to achieve escape-velocity while navigating the debris and the gravitational forces. The 10 dice mean that there is a lot of luck involved. There also might be player elimination if the rolls are bad enough. I still love this basic game as it is always surprising me. Almost every time I play there will be a moment of "that's never happened before!" ... and we have been play-testing this since March. The only problem I see with it is that it is not very dense.

Enter the advanced game: Player still must navigate the field but they have multiple ships in their fleet in case of disasters. Not only are they navigating the field, they are collecting debris for contracts and delivering them to a marketplace. To mitigate some of the luck elements, there are achievements involved when the rolls get rough and the player can collect tokens that will give them advantages. In other words, this turns the luck-based race game into a quasi-Euro game.