$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 97.83

6,240 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
39.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Torpedoes hitting mines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charlie C.
United States
Saint Johns
Florida
flag msg tools
The rules state that "if a torpedo impacts in a space with a mine, the mine is destroyed; the Captain erases that mine from his sheet."

If a sub was adjacent to the mine in that instance, would they take two damage -- one for the indirect hit from the torpedo and another from the mine, or is the mine destroyed without detonating?

Would a torpedo also destroy an Archer mine in the Echo map scenario?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Plucinski
United States
East Rutherford
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We play that the torpedo would do the damage to the sub and not the mine. Since the mine was never activated, it would just explode with the torpedo inpact and only the torpedo dose the damage.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Only one damage in this case.

As for the Archer mines, I'll check with the designers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
FabienC wrote:
Only one damage in this case.

As for the Archer mines, I'll check with the designers.


Official answer : the torpedo will destroy an Archer mine just like any other mine.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Lin
United States
Dublin
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Does the fired Torpedoes destroy mines of opposing team as well? or only your own mine?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cglin222 wrote:
Does the fired Torpedoes destroy mines of opposing team as well? or only your own mine?


Any mine.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cglin222 wrote:
Does the fired Torpedoes destroy mines of opposing team as well? or only your own mine?



Your own and the opponent's. See page 6 of the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
frank chang
Taiwan
flag msg tools
If a Torpedo hits the square next to the mine, does it count as impact and clears the mine? Specifically, is the impact 1 square or 3x3 squares exploding radius?

Our current meta is mine like crazy, so I'm looking for strategy to defeat mine fields. I'm thinking Torpedo impact 3x3 squares makes a more interesting game...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I take it to mean a direct hit. But in light of an official ruling, house rule however it makes sense for your group.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.