$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 133.26

7,796 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.1% of Goal | left

Support:

George Triantafyllidis
United Kingdom
Torquay
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I followed a damaged escorted ship (auto-success).I chose now a close range attack but get detected and cannot launch any torpedos.Can i follow again after escaping detection or is the encounter over.There is this rule 9.7.10 which says that if you do not attack with at least one torpedo after having followed a damaged ship that is still escorted,the encounter ends.
PS Although i understand that the rule was written to prevent gamey manipulations of the sort : do not engage in the hope that the ship will end up without escort in the next follow up,nevertheless i could see a thematic explanation that ends the encounter.The sub was simply too busy to escape the close range detection giving enough time the damaged ship to get away with it
Any thoughts?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know but I think I would play it so that you would be allowed to still follow the damaged ship so long as you either attack it with at least one torpedo or if you attempted to get to close range first and were detected then you can still keep following it after the detection cycle is over. But that's just my thoughts and you are right, the rule is designed to prevent complete "gameyness" by allowing you to keep rolling to see if the escort eventually leaves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey George,

Yes, you can follow again (assuming you survive the detection that occurred.) The enemy merchant is damaged and not presumed to be moving very fast.

You can't follow and do nothing, over and over, until the escort leaves. That's obviously an attempt to circumvent the rules. However, attempting to go to close is a combat action (IMO) and counts as if you'd fired a torpedo, as you wouldn't do that without intending to shoot. The rule could have been clearer to include this particular situation.

Good luck,

Greg
Game Designer
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.