$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 113.81

6,966 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
43.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you have to move? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Allen Plucinski
United States
East Rutherford
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rule book under "anouncing a course", it says "the captain can move his submarine one space". Dose the "can move" mean there is an option of not moving? Is the option to move 1 space or none at all. If it is possible to not move, what dose the ccaptain need to do or say if there is no movement on a turn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. Perry
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure "not moving" is a movement. It feels quite the opposite.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain needs to move. If he doesn't want to leave his spot, surfacing is the only option.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you don't want to move just do nothing. You are allowed to wait for a while in the real time mode.
5 
 Thumb up
0.06
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leon Stansfield
Austria
Lower Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Captain needs to move. If he doesn't want to leave his spot, surfacing is the only option.


This is not correct! As explained in the topic “Activating Silence question” (in the BBG rules forum) there is a possibility to “move zero spaces” by activating the Silence gauge:

FabienC wrote:
Hi all,
I just checked and now I understand why the confusion. There is actually an imprecision in the english rules. The french rules clearly say that the silence allows for 0 to 4 movements and that the captain indicates to his teammates ONE direction.
This will be rewritten in the english rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the captain announces a direction, he has to move one space in that direction.

The exception being the silence, as jumpwalker pointed out.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.