$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.14

6,623 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

SPQR (Deluxe Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trumping elephant leaders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
José Herrera
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Under 4.83, leader elephants have no other purpose than giving LC to EL units.

However, the presence of an initiative "1" leader in the Carthaginian chain of command can have drastic effects on a battle if Hannibal or anyone else decides to active trump his own leader elephant.

Has anyone else noticed this? Is it even allowed? I am reluctant to do this because it feels "gamey", but if it is a legal option it can be a game changer,..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
loris Pagnotta
Italy
Brusaporto
Bergamo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All players that I know have removed it from play after the first use.
Obviously any one is free to play following the official rulebook or gaming in a more satisfactory manner with some little modifier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Avery Allen
United States
Brookline
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
This user is not worth your time.
badge
To err is human; to forgive, divine.
He certainly could, but does't mean he should. Below are some things to consider:

Hannibal has the option of an elite activation to begin every turn anyway

If Hannibal trumps, the elephant leader is now finished

Hannibal will be finished after his Trump turn

In trumping, you've deprived all your other leaders of momentum attempts for the remainder of the turn.

If Hannibal is unsuccessful in his Trump attempt, he becomes finished for the turn, which can be catastrophic for the Carthaginian player

Carthage probably wants to move its elephants anyway, so why waste a better leader on the one thing an elephant leader can actually do for your side?

Generally speaking, powerful leaders like Hannibal can more useful at the end of a turn, when they can react to their opponents moves and rally routed units. It's always good to have the final say in a turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.