$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 104.1

6,530 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

7 Ronin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Passage: move to a Ronin occupied area? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When using Passage:

- The player screen says: "Move up to 2 ninja from the Ninja Reserves to 1 area containing Ronin"

- The rulebook says: [...] If this are contains a Ronin [...]


So when using Passage: does there have to be a Ronin? Screen says yes, book says no....
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Busch

Broomfield
Colorado
msg tools
mb
The original English (translated from Polish) has:

Quote:
The Attacker moves up to 2 Ninja Markers
from his Reserves (not from the Ninja
Pool) on 1 chosen Village Area. If this
area contains a ronin, Wounds are dealt
using standard rules (as in Step 2 of the
Combat Phase). If, after using this ability
and resolving the combat, the Attacker has
started to occupy the area with his newly
moved Ninja Markers, he can use its special
ability normally (as he chooses the order of
area resolution).


That is the way we've always played it. The area does not have to contain a Ronin.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Played according to the rules, not the player screen. Thought the rules would be correct, indeed.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p g
Greece
Agia Paraskevi
flag msg tools
Interesting, I played according to the screen.

Just to be sure and complete, you can use the ability of occupied area only if it was containing a Ronin that you defeat and if the area was empty you only benefit from occupying the area.

does that sound right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't think so; occupying the area should be enough.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Reitz
Germany
Mayen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, occupying an area is enough. This happens after defeating a Ronin or just placing on an area that is not protected by a Ronin.

Michael
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p g
Greece
Agia Paraskevi
flag msg tools
Thanks, wow, that makes Passage a much more powerful area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Lobkowicz
United States
High Ridge
Missouri
flag msg tools
publisher
You could be playing.
badge
Which came first, the phoenix or the flame?
mbmbmbmbmb
I can confirm. That space can move Ninja into any area, not just those with ninja in it - the player aid should have said "with or without ronin"

-Josh
Grey Fox Games
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.